This device is not registered as part...

rrwrrw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 13, 2009
25
0
I keep trying to activate my iPhone 4s on iOS 6 and keep getting the message "We're unable to complete your activation. This device is not registered as part of the iPhone Developer Program." I added the Device ID to the provisioning portal, but it isn't working.

Does this mean the server is down or that I have done something wrong when adding the Device ID?
 

rrwrrw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 13, 2009
25
0
Yep. I was just wondering if this is the message that you get when the activation server is not working.
 

rrwrrw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 13, 2009
25
0
Come on guys. Can someone please take two seconds and help?
 

SoldOutMatinee

macrumors regular
Jan 14, 2007
106
0
Las Vegas
Come on guys. Can someone please take two seconds and help?
if you did everything right, i wouldn't panic until a few more hours pass bc it seems that the servers are not responding for some right now. I activated my phone earlier today and it went smoothly. I've now tried doing someone else's and it's saying it's not registering so i'm assuming it's a server issue.
 

Haugum

macrumors newbie
Mar 27, 2012
4
0
I keep trying to activate my iPhone 4s on iOS 6 and keep getting the message "We're unable to complete your activation. This device is not registered as part of the iPhone Developer Program." I added the Device ID to the provisioning portal, but it isn't working.

Does this mean the server is down or that I have done something wrong when adding the Device ID?
Same thing happened to me, didn't work for hours. Then I put my iPhone into DFU, connected it to iTunes and restored to 5.1.1. When my iPhone was running 5.1.1, I connected it to iTunes and updated (NOT restored) to 6.0 by alt-clicking the update button and choosing my .ipsw file.

TL;DR
1. Enter DFU
2. Restore to 5.1.1 in iTunes
3. Alt-click update (not restore!) and choose your .ipsw (For Windows: Shift-click update).
4. Profit.
 
Last edited:

ShapeShifter499

macrumors newbie
Jun 12, 2012
1
0
Same thing happened to me, didn't work for hours. Then I put my iPhone into DFU, connected it to iTunes and restored to 5.1.1. When my iPhone was running 5.1.1, I connected it to iTunes and updated (NOT restored) to 6.0 by alt-clicking the update button and choosing my .ipsw file.

TL;DR
1. Enter DFU
2. Restore to 5.1.1 in iTunes
3. Alt-click update (not restore!) and choose your .ipsw
4. Profit.
This works great! However for windows users its SHIFT and click UPDATE.
 

aDRock1154

macrumors 65816
Nov 15, 2011
1,387
5
Ohio
Same thing happened to me, didn't work for hours. Then I put my iPhone into DFU, connected it to iTunes and restored to 5.1.1. When my iPhone was running 5.1.1, I connected it to iTunes and updated (NOT restored) to 6.0 by alt-clicking the update button and choosing my .ipsw file.

TL;DR
1. Enter DFU
2. Restore to 5.1.1 in iTunes
3. Alt-click update (not restore!) and choose your .ipsw
4. Profit.
Thank you!!! I assumed the servers were getting hammered and I would just have to wait it out... I am trying as soon as I get home! Thanks again!
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.