"This disk cannot be used to start up your computer."

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by thompson11, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. thompson11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #1
    I beg to differ, Lion installer — seeing as I'm currently booted on that disk.

    Any ideas? I've tried using Repair Disk from Disk Utility, still the same result.

    Several months ago I used Paragon's CampTune to resize my Bootcamp partition. I have a nasty feeling that the program fracked up my boot sector.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ThoseGrapefruit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #2
    Exact same thing happened to me, however I never used CampTune. I have a BOOTCAMP partition and it gave me the same message for Macintosh HD. I believe it has something to do with the swap partition; I think that Lion wants extra space for this swap, or perhaps the built-in recovery disk as well. My solution was to go into Disk Utility, reduce the size of the Macintosh HD by about 10-15 gb and clicking "Apply". If this doesn't work for you, try some of the other things that people have done: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3189387

    Hope I could be some help! :)
     
  3. thompson11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #3
    I deduced the same problem/solution and managed to get OS X installed just a little while before your post.

    For those searching, I ended up just shrinking the Macintosh HD partition by 1gb and that was enough to solve this issue. I saw somewhere that the Recovery partition was about 600-700mb, so I think around a gigabyte should be perfect.

    Glad you were able to get it fixed too!
     
  4. MobiusStrip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    #4
    Disk Utility’s Partition button is greyed out for my sole internal drive, which I just formatted as HFS+ with Disk Utility. First Aid reports no problems.
     
  5. MobiusStrip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    #5
    UPDATE: From the command line, I was able to force Disk Utility to create a partition on the SSD. After then "erasing" that partition in Disk Utility's GUI, I was able to install the OS.
     

Share This Page