iPhone This has me wondering..

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by aDRock1154, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    If I wanted to go back to stock, obviously I can restore.. If I want to keep all my data up until this point (even data made while being jail broken) can I just use my iCloud backup (made while being jail broken)?

    I wasn't sure if making backups through iTunes would keep some jailbreak files that I wouldn't want through a restore? Or even, do iCloud backups also keep some of the files left over?

    I'm sure this is a dumb question, but can someone help me out?
     
  2. Adutrumque macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    Once you restore all your jailbreakdata is gone.
     
  3. aDRock1154 thread starter macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    And that much I can understand.. What about restoring from a backup while I was jail broken?
     
  4. Adutrumque macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Backups won't save jailbreakdata.
     
  5. aDRock1154 thread starter macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Perfect! So, basically I could continue to backup and I could go back to my current state with all my data minus a jailbreak.

    Thank you, this had me puzzled and wasn't sure if it would work.
     
  6. joelk2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #6
    yep, correct there. you can still backup and use itunes as normal.

    when you restore you can restore using one of those backups but without the jailbroken data.
     
  7. aDRock1154 thread starter macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    That's a life saver. This is only the second time I have jail broken (iPhone 4S on 5.0.1 prev.), so I'm a tad rusty and don't want to lose anything.

    I've been on quite a few betas before where you had to do a full restore, so this is good news!
     

Share This Page