This MBP good for college (or wait for update)?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by geniusABBY, Dec 26, 2010.

1. geniusABBY macrumors newbie

Hello everyone! This is my first post--hopefully it is in the right thread! I'm new to macs btw.

For the past few years I have been saving up for a MBP for college. Finally I have enough money and was planning to buy one after graduation. Yet, I was completely shocked to find out my family worked together to get me one for Christmas! I am so grateful because this frees up the money I would have spent for other college expenses.

They explained to me that this is a placeholder. I can open it now, or I can wait for a future update.

Here are the specs:
    I just got the upgraded 13" MBP. Next fall I'll be going to college. I do not know what my major will be, but I might be going into some sort of film editing or design.

Here are the specs:
    13-inch: 2.66GHz
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    4GB Memory
    320GB hard drive
    SD card slot
    Built-in battery (10 hours)
    NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics

I am not quite sure of my major for the next few years but I know there is a possibility that I will go into film editing or design.

I know a 15" would be more powerful, but I really want the portability of the 13" for college and an Apple Genius agreed. Yet, I'm worried that the processor and graphics card isn't up to snuff. I don't know much about specs--will the computer suit my needs or should I take it back and wait for a 13" update?

Would it be worth it to take the trip to visit the Apple store for a chat, or will they just tell me what I already know?

2. toxic macrumors 68000

whatever you do, your school will have powerful desktops (if it doesn't, you picked the wrong school), so your laptop only needs to be "good enough".

design is much less processor-dependent than video editing.

if you have little use for a laptop right now, I guess you should return it and wait.

3. geniusABBY thread starter macrumors newbie