This memory in my new imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Gunner86, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #2
    Corsair CM3X8GSDKIT1066 8GB 2X4GB PC3-8500 DDR3-1066 SODIMM Memory Kit is the product you are looking at. 1066Hz memory is slower than the 1333Hz memory provided on the mac and using both in combination MAY cause OS level errors. It would technically work as sandy bride supports 1066/1333/1600Hz memory but I wouldn't recommend it.
     
  2. Gunner86 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    #3
    Dam i thought for sure imacs were using 1066 memory, ive already ordered it....was planing on upgrading to 12gb of ram :(
     
  3. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
  4. Gunner86 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    #5
    Wow thanks for making me feel welcome, what a waste of time making that...now go troll someone else.
     
  5. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #6
    I guess that makes both of us trolls then. A simple scroll down the iMac forum page would have provided you with the information you were looking for.
     
  6. Gunner86 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    #7
    Why do you guys waste your time posting this stuff, if you don't want to answer my question just moove on......And of course there is a ton of people asking if that SPECIFIC ram will work in a new imac......After reading up on it some more alot of people say this ram will work with the 1333 ram, all it will do is downclock the factory one from 1333 to 1066. Gees........
     
  7. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #8
    That post took all of five seconds, I even managed to eat a few grapes and read a text message in between.

    As the first comment that answered your question, the 1066's will work. But you're adding the risk of having two different RAM combos in your system which has been known to cause startup and OSX errors.

    Funny you did the reading after the posting.
     

Share This Page