This OEM XP ok for bootcamp and then parallels ?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by illustratorDavi, Jul 22, 2007.

  1. illustratorDavi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    #1
    Hi

    So I have a SR Macbook pro and want to install XP so i can test my websites with ie5,6,7 and play a few games (apparently vista won't let you install ie6 !!)

    Anyway I found this on version of XP OEM on ebuyer.com will this install with bootcamp ?

    I've been googling about OEM and bootcamp but i'm not 100% sure that this will work.

    Also will I be able to use parallels if i get it to run xp from the bootcamp partition ?

    Thanks
    David
     
  2. aansa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #2
    Hi. I also bought xp oem from ebuyer and have installed it using bootcamp without any problems but have not activated yet. I believe we only get one go at activating oem versions and so I want to make sure I do not want to use vm ware or parallels instead first.
    I have probably answered part of your second question already. From what I have read so for, I think you cannot use parallels as well with the same oem activation code if you already have installed in bootcamp. Also, you cannot use parallels to use the bootcamp partition as well because this still requires re-activation as well.
    Let me know if you have any luck with the above.
     
  3. illustratorDavi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    #3
    Thanks, great to hear it works.

    I think we've got 30 days to activate it.

    I think by booting up from the same windows files using parallels it would make sense that its only considered as one pc.
     
  4. mattmiller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #4
    "I think by booting up from the same windows files using parallels it would make sense that its only considered as one pc."​

    David,

    I wish that were the case. I just found out first-hand that it is not. I installed Windows XP from an OEM CD on a bootcamp partition, then tried to run it with parallels and got an activation error - the message was that there had been a significant change in hardware.

    (The reason for this is that the Parallels runs Windows in a virtual machine, so the Proccessor, HD, RAM, etc. all have different signatures.)

    Does anyone have any first-hand knowledge of how the retail version works with Bootcamp and Parallels? I would really like to be able to run both because I want to be able to run MS Office 2007 apps alongside Mac stuff, but boot into Windows for intense Photoshop work.

    Thanks!
     
  5. illustratorDavi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    #5
    Thanks Matt

    Yeah I just got that message aswell.

    Booted back into bootcamp and it works fine without any messages asking me to activate.

    Think i'll stick with bootcamp until a solution comes up. Parallels seems a little slower anyway - windows trailing etc. because its sharing resources with osX

    David
     

Share This Page