THIS or MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SouthTexas, May 27, 2012.

1. SouthTexas macrumors newbie

Hi guys, I am going to try to make this real quick in order to avoid taking up your time. I have recently sold my 11" MacBook Air as it was not what I wanted. Here are my uses: I do daily things such as Safari, Mail, iCal, iTunes, (for personal and business) religiously. I am however interested in the occasional iMovie (putting photographs in tune with music). I am also an amateur wildlife photographer/photographer so I will also be using Aperture 3 and Photoshop Elements. I do not want to spend $1000+ on a MacBook Pro, refurbished at that. I am looking to replace my early 2008 iMac with THIS

http://www.ebay.com/itm/230794612093?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

Don't worry about me "buying through eBay" I have made that decision. But does this look like a good machine? I know that it is a 2008 but this thing had been fully loaded at the time of purchase and customized rather extensively with RAM and HD at the Mac Online Store.

My current 2.66GHz iMac 4GB gets the job done fine for now, but I will need a laptop for portability and I plan to make this my only computer. What do you guys think? Next on my list is iPad 3 and around Christmas Time my first real DSLR.

Thank you all so much!

2. pragmatous, May 27, 2012
    Last edited: May 27, 2012

pragmatous macrumors 65816

I'm a little hesitant to say get it. Core 2 duo is probably fine but I'm cautious about the screen resolution. If you can hook it up to a bigger monitor just in case the screen isn't up to par I would say go for it.

The display resolution is only 1280 x 800.

3. thundersteele macrumors 68030

4. Kaylor macrumors regular

Kaylor

If it's going to be your sole computer, the lack of dedicated GPU would concern me

5. pragmatous macrumors 65816

Agreed. That and the low resolution. I think her photography would be hampered.

6. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

bozz2006