"This package will run a program to determine if the software can be installed"

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by armantanzarian, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. armantanzarian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #1
    So I had to completely remove Aperture from my machine as the last update killed it. 3.4.3 going to 3.4.4 by the way.

    I didn't buy Aperture from the App Store so am using the original disk. v3.1

    Now trying to reinstall - I open the Aperture mpkg installer - and can't progress past "This package will run a program to determine if the software can be installed"

    http://imgur.com/aqOu4Km

    Hitting continue or cancel does nothing. This has happened in the past, but the resolve was a complete OS reinstall - which I don't want to have to resort to.

    I have tried finding appropriate preference and/or cache files under library, etc - but don't want to delete anything without knowing for sure.

    Any tips?
    Thank you.
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    The installer checks whether the software can be installed on your Hardware and in the OS X version you have so make sure it can be installed on it, look at the minimum requirements for Aperture.


    There is a bypass but you need to enable invisible files first and then right click on Aperture Installer, in the package is an invisible Folder called Packages and inside there are quite a few Installers, you can run them separately, one by one.
     
  3. armantanzarian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #3
    I know this isn't the issue - because I had it installed prior to updating. It's also a brand new iMac 13,2 - so it's not old hardware, either.

    I'll give your suggestion a go, however. Thanks.
     
  4. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Something is corrupt on your computer. This is not normal at all.

    Like you, I bought Aperture before the MAS was launched (4 years ago). I update my iMac and MBA annually, so I have installed this program on 8 different Macs so far... always without a hitch.

    My concern is that if something is corrupt on your system... then you will keep having repeat problems. I would re-install OSX and start from scratch.

    /Jim
     
  5. armantanzarian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #5
    This didn't work. There are no installers under the package it seems.

    The same issue happened before, and I reformatted from scratch. I really do not want to have to do this again. Surely there is a fix.
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    I thought about this after I wrote my reply, I have an older installer, 3.0.3 or so, that probably made a difference.

    Try to install with Pacifist, they have a trail I think.
     
  7. flynz4, Apr 20, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013

    flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    If this is happening repeatedly, then I would look for something else on the system that is causing the instability. Something must be different with your Mac and others who do not have the problem.

    For reference... my latest iMac is a 2012 i7 iMac with a MX680, 32 GB DRAM, 768 GB SSD, 8 TB Pegasus Thunderbolt RAID array (4TB RAID 10). I still have the original Aperture 3 (on physical media) and it installed and has been running perfectly. I have used the machine with my ~400GB Aperture library on both the Pegasus, and the SSD. I am currently using it on the SSD. No instability problems... everything is instantly fast.

    I hope that you get to the bottom of it.

    BTW: When I moved to this new machine... I reinstalled everything from scratch, and abandoned about 1/2 of my applications that were not commonly used or redundant. I like lean clean installations whenever possible.

    /Jim
     
  8. armantanzarian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #8
    Will give Pacifist a go, thanks.

    This Mac is very similar to yours - except this has the 1TB Fusion and 16GB of memory instead. Of course it has been reformatted, and the OS installed from scratch (removed iMovie/Garageband/iPhoto and all that junk). I'm the same as you, a clean machine is my haven.

    It's a fast machine, no instability issues whatsoever. I'm 110% certain this isn't a hardware issue. I'm not trying to toot my own horn, but I work in IT and deal with Macs on a daily basis.

    Anyway, back to the issue. I tried a fresh install of the OS only, keeping the Users directory untouched. Issue still persists, which led me to assume it's something screwy in my user folder. Confirmed that by creating a test user. Aperture installs without a hitch.

    Thanks again - I'll keep you updated.

    ----------

    PS - here is the log from opening the mpkg, to closing.


    21/04/13 5:03:16.191 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.192 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.194 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.196 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.198 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.199 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.201 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.202 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.203 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.203 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.204 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.206 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.208 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.210 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:16.212 PM CoreServicesUIAgent[1354]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
    21/04/13 5:03:17.436 PM Installer[1352]: This NSPersistentStoreCoordinator has no persistent stores. It cannot perform a save operation.
    21/04/13 5:03:17.437 PM Installer[1352]: (
    0 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8ec5fb06 __exceptionPreprocess + 198
    1 libobjc.A.dylib 0x00007fff92ab33f0 objc_exception_throw + 43
    2 CoreData 0x00007fff90b2c889 -[NSPersistentStoreCoordinator executeRequest:withContext:error:] + 345
    3 CoreData 0x00007fff90b55a98 -[NSManagedObjectContext save:] + 456
    4 AELicensingPlugin 0x000000011481afa0 aelWriteLicenseFileLegacy + 1497
    5 AELicensingPlugin 0x0000000114818d2d aelReadCurrentLicenseFile + 88
    6 AELicensingPlugin 0x000000011480ff1c AELCheckLicenseFile + 64
    7 AELicensingPlugin 0x0000000114810022 AELCheckLicenseFiles + 131
    8 AELicensingPlugin 0x000000011480ddbb AELicensingPlugin + 7611
    9 AELicensingPlugin 0x000000011480fb27 AELicensingPlugin + 15143
    10 AELicensingPlugin 0x000000011480fad7 AELicensingPlugin + 15063
    11 Installer 0x000000010c86988a Installer + 116874
    12 Installer 0x000000010c85cfb5 Installer + 65461
    13 Installer 0x000000010c866a2b Installer + 105003
    14 AppKit 0x00007fff9348122f -[NSAlert didEndSheet:returnCode:contextInfo:] + 100
    15 AppKit 0x00007fff9313cb46 -[NSApplication endSheet:returnCode:] + 267
    16 AppKit 0x00007fff9347c986 -[NSAlert buttonPressed:] + 265
    17 AppKit 0x00007fff9332f989 -[NSApplication sendAction:to:from:] + 342
    18 AppKit 0x00007fff9332f7e7 -[NSControl sendAction:to:] + 85
    19 AppKit 0x00007fff9332f71b -[NSCell _sendActionFrom:] + 138
    20 AppKit 0x00007fff9332dc03 -[NSCell trackMouse:inRect:eek:fView:untilMouseUp:] + 1855
    21 AppKit 0x00007fff9332d451 -[NSButtonCell trackMouse:inRect:eek:fView:untilMouseUp:] + 504
    22 AppKit 0x00007fff9332cbcc -[NSControl mouseDown:] + 820
    23 AppKit 0x00007fff9332453e -[NSWindow sendEvent:] + 6853
    24 AppKit 0x00007fff93320674 -[NSApplication sendEvent:] + 5761
    25 AppKit 0x00007fff9323624a -[NSApplication run] + 636
    26 AppKit 0x00007fff931dac06 NSApplicationMain + 869
    27 Installer 0x000000010c84e434 Installer + 5172
    28 libdyld.dylib 0x00007fff8be1e7e1 start + 0
    )
    21/04/13 5:03:17.984 PM sandboxd[1358]: ([1219]) mdworker(1219) deny file-read-data /Volumes/Aperture Trial 3.1/ApertureTrial.mpkg/Contents/Plugins/AELicensingPlugin.bundle/Contents/Info.plist (pre-plugin fstype:hfs fsflag:480D000 flags:250000004C diag:0 uti:com.apple.generic-bundle plugin:internalPlainTextImporter - find suspect file using: sudo mdutil -t 1082346)
    21/04/13 5:03:17.000 PM kernel[0]: Sandbox: sandboxd(1358) deny mach-lookup com.apple.coresymbolicationd
     
  9. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #9
    There are a few interesting entries in the log, the second bolded part suggest there should be a folder inside the Installer with separate packages, the installer is a .mpkg which means it is a "multiple .pkg.

    First bolded part, I think it can't go ahead since your old licence is still in your User Folder, I Installed a trail version yesterday, but did this first by opening the invisible Folder inside the .mpkg, located the App only installer, installed, didn't launch, after installing something like Xs.pkg the App launced and I registered, then I launched the complete install and I got an error that it was installing Aperture trail over an existing registered install and did not go ahead.
    So, it seems to me you need to remove something inside your normal User account.

    In the below screenshot you can see where some files are located, these are preference files only and there might be invisible files somewhere although Apple normally contains their registration info inside one of these files.
    Did a search with Easyfind on the whole HD, did not find much more outside of the home Library and main Library.

    If you suspect permissions problems on your Home folder there is a way to repair this, eel it should work although it didn't do much on my Home folder.
    To repair permissions on the Home folder restart in Recovery (Recovery HD), next open Terminal, enter "passwordreset" or "resetpassword" without the quotes, think it's the first one, can't recall, the password reset Utility will launch, you then have to click the HD to perform the reset on, then the User in the drop down Menu, last is to reset users permissions, it's in the lower part of the utility, quit the utility and restart.
     

Share This Page