"This version of AirPort Utility doesn't support this base station"

liam.berlin

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 20, 2015
191
63
Berlin (Germany)
Hello everyone. This is my first post. I have been reading the forum for a long time now, so I will begin by thanking you for so much help and interesting posts and articles.

I am using a MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012), Yosemite 10.10.3 and AirPort Utility 6.3.5.

I bought an AirPort Time Capsule 3TB and am using that as my base station. I also have an older Time Capsule 500GB. However the latter arrived from eBay without any cables, so I need to order some before I can set that up! I bought it because I wanted to put some things on an external hard drive that I do not need every day, but decided to get this to add to my Apple collection and because I could extend my network with it.

With that in mind I decided to shop on eBay for some of the older AirPort Express models, to try and collect as many as possible. I have the collecting gene, I love Apple, but I decided to have a collection that has a purpose.

My A1264 is working just fine. Maybe in the future I will use it with a printer. I like their smaller size, even though they do not have any hard drive, to go with a printer.

I also have bought an A1088. And this is where the problem begins.

I receive the error message "This version of AirPort Utility doesn't support this base station" when trying to configure it.

My question is, can I try and make a printer wireless with this A1088, or will I just get the same error message?

I am disappointed because I was hoping to collect all of the older models and put them all to good use. The UFO-shaped one is just beautiful!

And if my current software does not support the A1088, could it be that future versions will also not support my A1264?

I should add, I am new to this and still learning, so if any of my questions are stupid then please forgive me!

Thanks in advance for your help. I am very excited to be a member of the forum!
 

liam.berlin

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 20, 2015
191
63
Berlin (Germany)
Hi,

to use your A1088, you need Airport Utility 5.6.1.

See here, this works perfectly (including Yosemite): http://coreyjmahler.com/2013/10/24/airport-utility-5-6-1-on-os-x-10-9-mavericks/

When you launch 5.6.1, it will offer to update : don't !

You can have the 2 versions on the same computer, no problem, they can even run simultaneously.
Thank you!

OK so when I install this I am not allowed to use the shortcut as it says it will not work with my version of OS X. However the launcher works. I guess I need to save these files somewhere safe to use for the future. And I have said no to updates.

But this older AirPort Utility 5.6.1. still only sees the base station and AirPort Express I have already set up, and when I click on the wireless icon on the menu bar and select the unconfigured AirPort Express, the newest version of AirPort Utility opens by default and I get the same error message.

Is there a workaround this?
 

Bruno09

macrumors 68020
Aug 24, 2013
2,202
148
Far from here
You can move the Airport Utility 5.6.1 and the launcher to your Applications folder.

To setup the A1088, connect it to your router via Ethernet, and reset it (paperclip in the reset hole until the amber light flashes quickly).
It will then show up in AU 5.6.1, and you will be able to set it up the way you want.

NB: if you configure these A1088 to "join a wireless network" (to create you wireless printer) the Ethernet port will be disabled.
Therefore only the USB port and the audio jack will be usable.
 
Last edited:

liam.berlin

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 20, 2015
191
63
Berlin (Germany)
You can move the Airport Utility 5.6.1 and the launcher to your Applications folder.

To setup the A1088, connect it to your router via Ethernet, and reset it (paperclip in the reset hole until the amber light flashes quickly).
It will then show up in AU 5.6.1, and you will be able to set it up the way you want.
Thank you so much. I will have to do this later in the week as I need to go and get more ethernet cables!

And will this method also work for the UFO-shaped AirPort Express?
 

Altemose

macrumors G3
Mar 26, 2013
9,092
444
Elkton, Maryland
And will this method also work for the UFO-shaped AirPort Express?
No. AirPort Utility 5 is limited to wireless N AirPorts with the exception of the wireless G AirPort Express. The UFO shaped AirPorts require AirPort Admin Utility 4.2.5 for OS X which to my knowledge only runs on Tiger or AirPort 4.2 for Windows. Fortunately, Apple has a page with the appropriate requirements and downloads here.
 

Randyw

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
6
1
Hi,

to use your A1088, you need Airport Utility 5.6.1.

See here, this works perfectly (including Yosemite): http://coreyjmahler.com/2013/10/24/airport-utility-5-6-1-on-os-x-10-9-mavericks/

When you launch 5.6.1, it will offer to update : don't !

You can have the 2 versions on the same computer, no problem, they can even run simultaneously.
[doublepost=1452301162][/doublepost]A clarification please regarding this "does not support" notice. I have an older Mac that did, and does, configure and manage my A1084. Should I expect the iTunes AirPlay capability on the newer Yosemite MacBook to be able to connect and utilize the wifi-connected Airport Express? It "sees" it, and initially connects, but I experience dropouts that do NOT occur in iTunes on the older MacBook. What I'm really trying to understand is whether it's the utility that is the bug for me, or the iTunes driving the A1084. IOW, the definition, here, of "support this base station." Thanks.
 

Altemose

macrumors G3
Mar 26, 2013
9,092
444
Elkton, Maryland
A clarification please regarding this "does not support" notice. I have an older Mac that did, and does, configure and manage my A1084. Should I expect the iTunes AirPlay capability on the newer Yosemite MacBook to be able to connect and utilize the wifi-connected Airport Express? It "sees" it, and initially connects, but I experience dropouts that do NOT occur in iTunes on the older MacBook. What I'm really trying to understand is whether it's the utility that is the bug for me, or the iTunes driving the A1084. IOW, the definition, here, of "support this base station." Thanks.
Yes. AirPlay functionality should indeed be working properly. I would look into a issue with the connection with the Express. A general consensus is that if there are any sources of interference then there will be dropouts in the audio quality.
 

Randyw

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
6
1
Yes. AirPlay functionality should indeed be working properly. I would look into a issue with the connection with the Express. A general consensus is that if there are any sources of interference then there will be dropouts in the audio quality.
[doublepost=1452317468][/doublepost]That is a relief, and seems logical. Can you lend any insight to why interference might affect one iTunes source (newer) and not hinder older Airplay feed?
 

Altemose

macrumors G3
Mar 26, 2013
9,092
444
Elkton, Maryland
[doublepost=1452317468][/doublepost]That is a relief, and seems logical. Can you lend any insight to why interference might affect one iTunes source (newer) and not hinder older Airplay feed?
Well, I cannot confirm this but it is possible that the new version of iTunes uses a higher quality stream. According to Apple Documentation, there is no indication that the older Express was ever dropped from support with AirPlay.
 

Randyw

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
6
1
Well, I cannot confirm this but it is possible that the new version of iTunes uses a higher quality stream. According to Apple Documentation, there is no indication that the older Express was ever dropped from support with AirPlay.
Thanks for that reassurance. My non-technical logic feels better. I will experiment with positioning of hardware and possible conflicting signal sources. HTTR?!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Altemose

Randyw

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
6
1
Report back with your findings...
Well, put the Yosemite machine in the exact spot (and several others) as the old Macbook. Still experiencing audio dropouts of 1-5 seconds. Maybe one every 2 min. I have Bluetooth "off" on both Macs, and wifi "off" on older Mac. Can you think of some config parameter I may be overlooking? Recall, I can configure the A1084 with the older machine. Thanks!
 

Altemose

macrumors G3
Mar 26, 2013
9,092
444
Elkton, Maryland
Well, put the Yosemite machine in the exact spot (and several others) as the old Macbook. Still experiencing audio dropouts of 1-5 seconds. Maybe one every 2 min. I have Bluetooth "off" on both Macs, and wifi "off" on older Mac. Can you think of some config parameter I may be overlooking? Recall, I can configure the A1084 with the older machine. Thanks!
Does this only occur on one Yosemite machine?
 

Randyw

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
6
1
Does this only occur on one Yosemite machine?
The 10.6.8 Mac occasionally experiences a brief audio dropout, but it is not of an annoying frequency. The Yosemite Mac--the only such machine I have--constantly loses transmission for gaps, and sometimes even drops the A1084 connection.
 

Altemose

macrumors G3
Mar 26, 2013
9,092
444
Elkton, Maryland
The 10.6.8 Mac occasionally experiences a brief audio dropout, but it is not of an annoying frequency. The Yosemite Mac--the only such machine I have--constantly loses transmission for gaps, and sometimes even drops the A1084 connection.
Are you running the latest updates on both machines? The fact that even the Snow Leopard Mac is having issues (though more slight) indicates some source of interference. Is it possible to connect the Express via Ethernet to the Extreme?
 

priitv8

macrumors 68040
Jan 13, 2011
3,587
455
Estonia
The 10.6.8 Mac occasionally experiences a brief audio dropout, but it is not of an annoying frequency. The Yosemite Mac--the only such machine I have--constantly loses transmission for gaps, and sometimes even drops the A1084 connection.
Don't know about your machine, but the Retinas are known to have Bluetooth-to-2.4GHz WiFi interference. You can try if turning Bluetooth off will make any difference.
 

Randyw

macrumors newbie
Jan 8, 2016
6
1
Don't know about your machine, but the Retinas are known to have Bluetooth-to-2.4GHz WiFi interference. You can try if turning Bluetooth off will make any difference.
Thanks for that idea. I have no reason to use BT on either Mac, so both are off. Unless you intended me to turn off ALL BT in the house as potential trouble sources?
[doublepost=1452877829][/doublepost]
Are you running the latest updates on both machines? The fact that even the Snow Leopard Mac is having issues (though more slight) indicates some source of interference. Is it possible to connect the Express via Ethernet to the Extreme?
Thanks for your continued thinking on this issue! My completely up-to-date device, which I thot could serve as a "baseline", is my iPhone. I turned off Bluetooth, turned on Wifi, streamed via Airplay and placed the phone both NEXT TO A1084 and then my router. If anything, the dropouts are more frequent. Perhaps the problem is my difficulty in identifying potential interference sources? TV (off)? Other electronics? What range is probable for interfering? Can I configure A1084 to be more resistant? If you meant Ethernet connection as permanent work-around, no, the arrangement of these parts won't allow hardwire except for temporary baseline testing.
 

priitv8

macrumors 68040
Jan 13, 2011
3,587
455
Estonia
Thanks for that idea. I have no reason to use BT on either Mac, so both are off. Unless you intended me to turn off ALL BT in the house as potential trouble sources?
No, it seems to be the local issue of the Retina MacBook and how it's antennae are laid out. As soon as you switch to 5GHz wireless only, all BT interferences are history. At least on my mid-2013 model.
 

mixelK

macrumors newbie
Oct 8, 2016
3
0
You can move the Airport Utility 5.6.1 and the launcher to your Applications folder.
Just moving to the Applications folder is still launching the new version on osX10.10.5. Also putting it in the Utilities folder. I've tried to rename / move the current Airport Util in an attempt to trick the system this way, but it seems even as super user (sudo) you are not allowed.

I hope I'm missing something very obvious, any help?
 

mixelK

macrumors newbie
Oct 8, 2016
3
0
The problem is when you select the Airport network (drop list from the wifi icon), it launches the new Utility, not the 5.6.1, so how do you select the wifi and use this launcher?

Not sure if that is clear question. So let met express it differently. When you have the 5.6.1 application open, the Airport is not show because you see only those you are currently connected to, so when I try to change my wifi connection to the old-Airport, it always opens the new utility-function.