those using logic pro 9/x

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by koban4max, Aug 1, 2014.

  1. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #1
    I'm an amateur when it comes to mixing...but when i do mix...why is it that my song sounds so low when i bounce...

    I did some research and some people from various websites said that i have unclick normalize and use compressor and limiter on master track...

    what say you guys?
     
  2. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #2
    There are some basic presets on the master channel for final mix-downs which will populate a bunch of mastering plugins for you. You can try starting with those for basic overall compression, etc., and modify to something that sounds good to you. No reason NOT to have normalize clicked from my point of view, but I'm a super amateur as well.
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    You say the volume goes down when you normalize the volume. But doesn't that depend on how hot the track was to start with. Some tracks would get louder when normalized. I think your observation says more about your tracks then about anything else.

    Maybe if all yours move down you are recording with more gain than you need

    It's all relative and the actually volume depends on the knob on the front of your headphone amplifier.
     
  4. koban4max thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #4
    what you mean? should i be lowering the volume of all my tracks?
     
  5. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #5
    What do you mean by "mix"? Are you talking about making a dj mix or mixing down a track like post production?

    Either way, it seems like you're volume is just low on the mix. You can just raise the volume without clipping. If it's real low, logic's limiter can boost your signal, just don't go into the red. -6 would be perfectly acceptable.
     
  6. mannix87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Location:
    in the southeast
    #6
    the Normalize function is "on" by default in Logic Pro 9. Unclick it before you bounce the track. I'm presuming of course, that your mixing levels are all within acceptable ranges for both the lows & the highs.
     

Share This Page