Those who have installed 3.0

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by muledogus, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. muledogus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #1
    This doesn't really need it's own topic but I posted in the 3.0 thread and before I could even reread my post it was pushed a few pages back because too many people are posting in there.

    Is the installation of 3.0 wiping out the hard drive and making you have to put all your music and such back on?

    Were earlier posts about it being better to install as a new phone instead of an update for better results true?
     
  2. MT0227 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #2
    So far I see:

    1) Phone seems slower navigating between apps.
    2) Holding down home button no longer quits apps
     
  3. TopToffee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    this is now done, i believe, by holding down the power button until the slide bar comes up, THEN holding down the home button
     
  4. Andrew.s macrumors regular

    Andrew.s

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    #4
    I was able to just do an update the other night. Didn't have to restore.
     
  5. ~Wibble~ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #5
    i have permanent interference with my speaker on my computer, the kind you'd get when receiving a text or call i know have constantly. unless i put it on airport mode. but then not such a great phone.


    ~wibble
     
  6. Andrew.s macrumors regular

    Andrew.s

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    #6
    Works for me.
     
  7. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #7
    No, all your music/media/contacts/messages etc. will be there after the install. For me at least, it did take a while to upgrade my library once I opened the iPod app on the iPhone.

    My biggest reaction - for some reason 3.0 is sloooooow. Flight Control is far more jerky now even with just a couple of aircraft on screen, and that's hardly the most demanding game. Eeek. :eek:
     
  8. efice32 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Music City USA
    #8
    to actually answer your question...you can just click update and it'll install the new firmware without deleting your data. IF you choose to restore and set it up as a new phone, then it WILL delete your data, but if you just click update it will not. Honestly, setting it up as a new phone was helpful for some of the buggy betas, but this release is much more stable so there's really no need.
     
  9. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    Just performed the update to 3.0 and I'd like to know where the HELL my apps have all gone?!

    6 springboard pages are now down to 1 with iTunes shifted to a second page.

    It's been a long day and I'm not in the mood for crap like this - updates are supposed to be a positive experience (ok aside from the odd bug here and there), but no mention of wiping apps!

    Only consolation is the storage space seems to be unchanged in the iPhone Summary tab in iTunes.

    Anyone have any clue what's going on?
     
  10. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    Just to add I backed up my iPhone before the SU just in case, and so they are there in my Mac-based iTunes Library, but not on my iPhone.

    Can't drop and drag them back either. Nnnngggggg......:mad:
     
  11. foulmouthedleon macrumors regular

    foulmouthedleon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    #11
    I can't for the life of me figure out how to cut and copy text. Any ideas?
     
  12. LoganT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #12
    Hold down on a word and then drag the blue dots to the selection you want. Or to copy an entire paragraph just hold down your finger in the middle of it and the iPhone will select the entire paragraph for you to copy.

    To paste tap anywhere and select paste (this obviously requires some kind of text field).
     
  13. markel253 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #13
    They are there ... when Voice Memo was added, it pushed one app to a new next page. If you turn to the NEXT page past that you will find everythig as it was. Time to do some rearranging and all will be well.

    But my phone is taking FOREVER to back-up!
     
  14. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #14
    Thanks I found that out now after almost having a coronary! :D

    No rejigging required either save for that lone app on the otherwise empty page, lucky me.

    p.s. Backups normally take ages on the first one after an update, it's normal, makes yourself a coffee and let it do its stuff.
     
  15. Rootus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    Not for me. At least, when I tried to force quit Safari a little while ago, holding down the home button did nothing at all. I'd guess it is somehow related to the voice control function for the 3GS. I hope there is still a way to kill apps off by force when necessary, because there are still occasions when I need to.
     
  16. coryndiego macrumors regular

    coryndiego

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca.
    #16
    CALL TIMER!!! I love that I can now see how long I've been on the phone after my phone call is disconnected! It's about time! Funny that even my calls placed before the upgrade are showing the timer...2.1 had the information stored all along it seems.

    Email - Sending more than one photo at a time is also a great bonus too! I just sent 5 photos!

    btw, I upgraded vs. clean install and dont have the slowness described above. It seems to be running smoothly...so far
     
  17. leandromp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #17
    It shouldn't have installed 3.0!, is very slow!
     
  18. Private Dirt macrumors regular

    Private Dirt

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #18
    Im guessing that since MMS isnt available for a couple more months there is no MMS app/button until its available or did mine not load??

    so if its already been asked
     
  19. mathewr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #19
    i just installed 3.0 and i wanted to check out find my iphone. it already had a location and had to be updated. the time stamp for the location was at 7:49 and the location was my apartment. how did it have that location before my phone had 3.0?
     

Share This Page