Those with WiFi problems. I want to gather data.

Discussion in 'iPad' started by EddyP, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. EddyP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #1
    Those of you who have WiFi problems as home, can you give me a little info? I just want to see if we can gather up some data points to help zero in on a solution.

    Can you tell me the following:
    1. Brief description of the problem. (e.g. "I have to enter my password every 5 minutes")
    2. What router are you using?
    3. What is the firmware date?
    4. Are you running G only or N?
    5. What frequencies are you running on? (e.g. "G and N both on 2.4ghz")
    6. What security setting are you using? (e.g. "both WEP")
    7. Do your networks have different names? (if you are using both 2.4 and 5)
     
  2. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #2
    1. Poor WiFi range (no connection issues)
    2. Verizon Fios Actiontech and Apple Airport Extreme
    3. Most recent firmware on both
    4. Running G on Verizon Router. N on Apple. WiFi poor via both.
    5. NO IDEA
    6. Changed it to the one recommended on this forum. Perhaps WEP
    7. Different named networks
     
  3. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Wouldn't it be better if you gathered information for all iPad users, whether they're having problems or not? That way you can tell what works and what isn't working.

    BTW, the poll in this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=898711 indicates that most members here aren't having issues.....
     
  4. EddyP thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #4
    Yeah, I probably could have phrased things differently. I know most people's iPads are just fine. I'd bet some of the issue is operator error.
     
  5. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    1. Get the "connecting" message multiple times while surfing the net.


    2. Time capsule with an airport extreme base station used as a WiFi extender.

    3. Not exactly sure (away from home right now), but it's the latest firmware for both.

    4. 802.11g

    5. WPA2
     
  6. Eric-PTEK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #6
    I goto a hotel conference center and connect...then it drops the connection and I have to pick it again and there is NO WEP/WAP, etc. Macbook and iPhone both work fine on this connection and I'm there once a week for a meeting.

    At one of must customers I wish I could get 5 min....I was trying to demo it for them and it was every 20-30 seconds. They are running a cheap SOHO Belkin G router although they will be getting switched a Netgear UTM25 and a WG103 WAP, that is the setup I have here at home and the iPad refused to work at all on Wireless G, on N it seems OK but I do get drops with it but not with the Macbook or the other 4 wireless devices.

    I'm setting up some Cisco wireless for a customer next week, that'll be a good test.

    It doesn't matter this is APPLES PROBLEM, period. If an Apple employee told me I needed to buy a Apple router I'd tell them to go pound sand. It is an industry standard.

    I work with all kinds of equipment, never found stuff that did not work well together except the iPad, that means its the iPad's problem.

    Steve can go on and on about standards but everyone else's stuff works, the iPad doesn't.
     
  7. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #7
    Not a single issue with it here at home on the Original Time Capsule we run. Had it drop on a Belkin last weekend when I was in the field.

    No clue how it was set up, the model or anything. Note my MBP also dropped that connection...
     
  8. AppleFanBoy888 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #8
    1. Wifi drops randomly
    2. Netgear WNDR3700
    3. Newest Firmware
    4. Both
    5. 2.4 GHz & 5 GHz
    6. WPA2 AES
    7. Yes
     
  9. EddyP thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #9
    Run Airport Extreme.
    Enter the Manual Setup section.
    Click the "Wireless" tab.
    Click "Wireless Network Options"
    Check the box near the "5 GHz Network Name" and give it a different name than the Fios router and the other Airport network.

    That should put the N network and only the N network on the 5GHz channel. Try connecting to that and see if you have the same issues.

    I don't know if it will work. I'm just guessing. :) It seems like your 2.4 freq may be muddy. I think the Fios router runs on 2.4 only.
     
  10. unkn0wnsoldier macrumors regular

    unkn0wnsoldier

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    Fountain, Co
    #10
    1. Wifi drops randomly and displays "connecting". YouTube streaming is garbage. Using speedtest.net, my iPad gets over 10mbps download.
    2. D-link dgl-4300
    3. Firmware Version*: 1.7 2006/10/05 latest
    4. G only
    5. 2.4 auto channel
    6. Wpa2
     
  11. CJS7070 macrumors 6502a

    CJS7070

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    1. WiFi drops randomly during browsing, sometimes a connection will be re-established, sometimes not. When it is not, I normally need to try to reconnect, try again, enter my password, and sometimes repeat.

    2. Linksys WRT150N

    3. DD-WRT v24

    4. N

    5. 2.4 (channel 6)

    6. WPA2

    7. No.
     
  12. Yuriy S macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #12
    1. Week signal
    2. Time Capsule
    3. 04/17/2010
    4. A-N
    5. 2.4 + 5 GHz
    6. WEP
    7. Yes
     
  13. rterra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #13
    I know this probably isn't the right thread for this but maybe there is some thing here of use. I tried to find a better thread but couldn't.

    So my wifi issue just started.

    Here's my deal: I got the iPad on the release day and took it home and quickly had it up and running on my network. I live out in the woods ad the only real broadband available to me is my Verizon UM175 modem. Through my 2.66 GHz iMac I share my internet connection via wifi with another iMac and the iPad. I was having no problems until I thought I would smart and buy a EVDO rourter (Cradlepoint CTR350) so the main iMac wouldn't have to be running to have a connection for the iPad. That same day I also upgraded my VZaccess Manager to the latest version (previously I wouldn't connect through VZaccess Manger though I would just have the modem aotomatically connect at start up.) The router seemed to just make every thing run more slowly. So I ditched that and went back to plain old internet sharing via wifi. Now the iPad is having a really hard time connecting or just not connecting at all. I have tried creating new networks and tinkering with internet sharing. I also have tried connecting through VZaccess manager and then after connecting closing the application in case there was some conflict between it and the wifi network I created. I probably just through some sort of kink in works.

    For the record I haven't take the iPad out to another wifi network to see if the problem is with the iPad or just my screwed up network settings at home. This network stuff sort of confuses me. I have had no problem connection on other networks in the past. At home I have not been using a password protection.
     
  14. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #14
    This is exactly what is happening to me. I've had my iPad since launch day and no issues until two days ago.

    I have a dual band TC, both bands are named differently and I've tried connected to both. Still getting the same issues.

    It appears this is a different issue to those that have non-Apple routers/TCs???
     
  15. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    Still no wifi issues, and I've used this thing in multiple locations.

    FTR, at home I use a Netgear Dualband wireless router.
     
  16. Falling Up macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    wifi issues

    My macbook is only 3 months old, I have no wifi connection issues in hot spots, but I just got ethernet through Brighthouse (florida) and my connection works fine with the cable. Brighthouse told me I could buy my own router and connect it myself. I've tried 2 different routers (neither are mac, cant afford it right now and I know I shouldn't have to) and I've had no luck connecting, I'm convinced its the network and they swear its not. Since I never have wifi problems anywhere but at home would anyone else have any advice?:mad:

    I dont have any speed issues or any of that, both routers I've tried (Belkin/Linksys) won't pickup/detect any connection. I get a connection fine with great speed if I've got the cable plugged in, if I wanted that I would've got a desktop. See Bright house charges a friggin arm and leg to connect their own wifi, or you can just DIY, or so they tell you. I've had several friends with the same problems (also mac users) I just posted this because I want to determine if I should switch networks or if macs are just picky and certain routers work better.
     
  17. unkn0wnsoldier macrumors regular

    unkn0wnsoldier

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    Fountain, Co
    #17
    I too have bright house Internet and I know for a fact that my speed issues are not from them. At anytime of the day, I can do a speedtest and get 10mbps dl and an average of about 1mbps up.

    All of the other video apps, such as, netflix, abc, air video, and orb work quite well on my iPad. I'm convinced that YouTube is the problem. Sometimes I can stream 1080p from YouTube on my Mac using the gigabit connection. Other times, Sd videos take forever to buffer. The same thing from my iPad, minus the Ethernet connection.

    Somebody posted a test video in another thread. This morning, I had no issues streaming it from YouTube. It was 720, or at least 480p and ten minutes long. YouTube! You are the thorn in my shoe!

    The fix, in my opinion, would be to allow the user to select the stream quality.
     
  18. zub3qin macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #18
    I had major problems but then I changed from WEP to WPA, I changed to 802.11g only, and I did channel 6.

    Ever since, 95% of the problems disappeared.

    Interestingly, I had similar problems with my iPhone and wifi for a year prior to iPad. The switches fixed my iPhone issues as well.


    I use a Verizon FIOS router.

    Hope this helps someone.
     

Share This Page