Thoughts on Autodesk Smoke 2013?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by WestSt, Apr 27, 2012.

1. WestSt macrumors member

Autodesk revealed the new Smoke for Mac 2013 at NAB.

I'm a hobbyist, and even though I spent $1000 on FCS2 way back (still what I use), and have spent thousands more on hardware and gear, I've always had the principal that my hobby should be as low budget as possible (toddlers, wife, house, car etc. all cost a lot;) ). But looking at this, and also seeing the new price point, I'm actually considering going crazy with my hobby budget again. The possibilities in one app - WOW!

I've dabbled with the Smoke for Mac 2012 trial some months back, and it had quite the learning curve! But at the end of the 30 days, and with FCP hotkeys enabled, I actually started getting to grips with it.

With Smoke 2013 it seems they have addressed the two major issues though: Price (2012 was over $15 000!), and UI (the main barrier coming from FCP for me).

So Pro's, is this what you've been missing since 2007/FCS3?

2. mBox macrumors 68020

Probably wait another year or two cause it might drop even more in price.
    They've done it in the past with prev Autodesk products and p*ssed off a lot of dedicated users :p
    I have done the demo three times in the last two years, they would have had to really trim the fat to make it closer to my speed with After Effects and similar apps.

3. cgbier macrumors 6502a

It is what we have been missing since the too early death of Shake. Smoke is the long awaited Phenomenon (IMHO).

Do you really need it?

4. mBox macrumors 68020

thats kinda what I was going with. I dont work with top end film so Im not the target for Smoke. the closest app we use (love) is Maya. that app I would rather beat my brains over than Smoke.

5. WestSt thread starter macrumors member