thoughts on new rMBP 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lixandrinho, May 19, 2015.

  1. lixandrinho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #1
    Do you think Yosemite will runs better with the new Gpu?
     
  2. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  3. vbedia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
  4. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #4
    It's very unlikely that the problems with yosemite are down to hardware. Better hardware seems to help what is a fundamental software issue. Your hope should be that apple sort out their software issues on the new OSX in autumn.
     
  5. lixandrinho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #5
    so no hopes on a better optimization with new hardware? It's just a software problem?
     
  6. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #6
    Hardware and software work together. There could be improvements beyond speed in the new GPU and Yosemite related to how Yosemite interacts with the gpu. It's pretty common to speed up interface elements this way. But my gut feeling is you probably won't see much difference.
     
  7. David58117 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #7
    With the dGPU?

    Those only come on when they're needed.
     
  8. ISO50 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Will this be able to drive a 5k external display?
     
  9. cookies! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #9
    I don't think so because it doesn't have the bandwidth (doesn't it need 1TB?)
     
  10. Gregintosh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    I imagine it will run it just fine since my 2012 first gen retina has 0 problems and runs it perfectly...
     
  11. Kal-037 macrumors 6502a

    Kal-037

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Location:
    Depends on the day, but usually I live all over.
    #11
    according to this post it does...


    I can't find where it says that on Apple.com though.
     
  12. totten76 macrumors regular

    totten76

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #12
    I read someone else's response to this exact quote. Apparently that's 5K height but 4K width...but I don't know I'm just passing on info


    On topic though, don't care about no Broadwell. Just go the update so I can buy a computer for college :)
     
  13. dagamer34 macrumors 65816

    dagamer34

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #13
    This is why terms like "4K" and "5K" are poor shorthands. The resolution of all current "5K" displays is 5120x2880. The new MacBook Pro does not support this. It requires DisplayPort 1.3 which needs Skylake. End of story.
     
  14. Kal-037 macrumors 6502a

    Kal-037

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Location:
    Depends on the day, but usually I live all over.
    #14
    My apologies for my ignorance but why would you need Skylake? wouldn't a dGPU like the one just released be enough to support it if it does have a dp-1.3? What would Skylake add aside from higher iGPU? (My undertsanding of 2k, 3k, 4k, 5k, ect... is limited, so again my apologies.)


    Kal.
     
  15. thekev, May 19, 2015
    Last edited: May 19, 2015

    thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #15
    Displayport 1.3 wasn't finalized that long ago. Displayport itself typically has several years between updates. In the case of 1.2 to 1.3, 1.2 wasn't widely implemented for a long time. It was finalized in Q4 2009 and included details for 4K that needed to be standardized across vendors. Other details are vendor specific, but the standard itself ensures compatibility across different hardware oems. This was before Apple started using resolutions that were a multiple of two with respect to each dimension when compared to their predecessors. VESA accounted for this by adding 5K to the next standard, but it's up to AMD/NVidia/Intel and to some degree Apple to deal with the driver implementation issues of these things.

    The current version of OSX is supported on an extremely wide range of hardware, some of which wouldn't be officially supported at all if it was incapable. It's not always that it's a hardware problem, but I'm so sick of people blaming it on gpus. It doesn't take much power to write the contents of a framebuffer. An issue might be one of starvation, but just updating gpus wouldn't fix that at all.
     
  16. dagamer34 macrumors 65816

    dagamer34

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #16
    Ah, I am mixing things.

    Currently no GPUs support DisplayPort 1.3. Until that happens, no 5K support.

    Skylake is needed because it brings Thunderbolt 3 support, which will bring DisplayPort 1.3. DisplayPort 1.3 is enough on it's own, but absent the new MacBook, everything else has a Thunderbolt port. There will not be Thunderbolt 2 with DisplayPort 1.3.

    If/when this happens, it will only come to the 15" MacBook Pro with dedicated GPU. No integrated GPU has enough performance to drive a 5K display. Proper 4K support @ 60Hz only just came to Broadwell this year.
     
  17. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #17
    Yeah. The higher resolution support of the AMD chip is actually a big benefit for osx scaling for hidpi. The chip may be asked to render higher than 4k for scaling reasons on a 4k monitor. Even though it will display 4k anyway, the hardware is designed to render even higher.
     
  18. Kal-037 macrumors 6502a

    Kal-037

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Location:
    Depends on the day, but usually I live all over.

Share This Page