Thoughts on Universities/Colleges in the United States

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by conch575, Jul 17, 2011.

1. conch575, Jul 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011

conch575 macrumors 6502

conch575

Hi,

I'm going on exchange to a University from Australia to the United States next year and I'm currently in the midst of choosing a Uni to exchange to.

I've been given a few choices;
    • California State University, Sacramento
    • San Francisco State University
    • University of Miami
    • or State University of New York at New Paltz

I'm studying Journalism and I want the WHOLE American College experience, just like you see in the movies. Has anyone studied at these places? I'm really excited, and I don't know where to choose!

2. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

while i don't know what you see in the movies, remember, they're movies for a reason...

3. BigPrince macrumors 68020

well in terms of cities....San Francisco would be where I would like to study.

4. Kashchei macrumors 65816

Kashchei

Miami would be the closest to Sydney. San Francisco is also on the coast, but the climate is quite different and not really a "beach" city. Sacramento is nice but certainly not the city I'd like to spend my year abroad in. New Pfalz will look like your stereotypical American college during the fall and late spring, but the rest of the school year you will need to shovel snow quite frequently. I don't know if that's a good or bad point for you.

Good luck and I hope you enjoy your year in the States.

5. Dr Kevorkian94 macrumors 68020