Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shujin88

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 7, 2009
Melbourne, AUS
Hi

I'm kind of new to Macs so please excuse my ignorance. That said, my question is.

Can i program a mighty mouse to use 3 button similar to a windows mouse?
I know there is the scroll wheel on MM but dont know if it can be programmed as a button. I need the middle button for a CAD program (Catia).

Thanks

spillproof

macrumors 68020
Jun 4, 2009
USA
Yes

edit: fine let me rephrase.

Yes, the 3rd mouse button (scroll wheel) can be set to a number of different options. Once your Mighty mouse is connected, go to Apple > System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Mouse. There you can set the preference.

ziggyonice

macrumors 68020
Mar 12, 2006
Rural America
Yes, your Mighty Mouse can be customized to use the left click, right click, middle button, and side buttons.

You can change what actions they perform by going into System Preferences, and click the "Keyboard & Mouse" option.

shujin88

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 7, 2009
Melbourne, AUS
Thanks...straight to the point i like that. I haven't bought the MM yet just wanted to make sure middle button was supported otherwise would have to buy a logitech one.

bozz2006

macrumors 68030
Aug 24, 2007
Minnesota
I'm actually not so sure. it's configurable, but not very configurable. it's also generally accepted as just about the worst mouse available. I wouldn't want it, especially for something intense like CAD software. I'd shop around if I were you, or at least try to find a few people who have the mighty mouse and use it for the same thing you want to use it for, and get their opinions.

fehhkk

macrumors 6502a
Jun 11, 2009
Chicago, IL
I think this answers your questions:

Attachments

• mouse.png
    mouse.png
    78.7 KB · Views: 154

bozz2006

macrumors 68030
Aug 24, 2007
Minnesota