Three Monitor Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by revron08, Nov 16, 2013.

  1. revron08 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a MacPro 3,1 and recently added a second ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT card so that I could use three monitors. Everything was working great for a while and then I restarted my computer. Once it came back up, only the two monitors in the slot 1 card are working.

    I checked in system information in the graphics/display tab and slot 1 shows the Radeon and slot 2 just shows "Display" and the following:

    Display:

    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-2
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x9580
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Kernel Extension Info: No Kext Loaded

    Try as I might, I haven't been able to figure out why the card suddenly stopped working. I did recently "upgrade" to mavericks, but this was all working fine for a while. Any help appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Ron
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I would move the card to slot 1 to make sure it has not died off on you.
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    Standard failure mode for 2600XT.

    They will sometimes "come back to life" for a little while, but will be in a landfill within 6 months.
     
  4. revron08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    #4
    As it turns out, you guys were right, sadly. I switched the cards so the "bad one" is in slot 1 and the good in slot 2. And the good card still works and the bad one still doesn't.

    Can it be as simple as reloading a kext or something easy like that or do you think this card is Dead with a capital D? If Dead, recommendations for a card that drive three monitors on a MacPro 3,1? Cheap helps.

    Thanks for any help.

    Ron
     
  5. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Most likely capital DEAD unfortunately don't if they will work in 3,1 but you should be able to find a couple of gt120 for Mac cheap, guy for that though is MacVid hopefully he replies with some suggestions.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    A lot depends on what type monitor. Resolution and connection type.

    A 5770 will get you 3 displays all by itself. BUT you need 2 @ MDP capable displays or you will need pricey active adaptors for at least 1 of the 3.

    We have a Gt640 that runs 3 displays but 2 of them must be digital. And that card needs newer OS while 2600 and GT120 can run much older OSs.
     
  7. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    You could remove the heatsinks/fan and then bake it in the oven for a little bit. Might bring it back to life.
     
  8. revron08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    #8
    MacVidCards, here is some system info. Please let me know what card you think is best and I can pick it up from you this week.

    I have three NEC EA241WM 24", all connected through DVI. These are 1920x1200. Recently, I installed Mavericks, but most of the software I use everyday works much better on Lion, so I can boot into either OS from two different SSDs.

    OrangeSVTguy, I tried it in the oven for 25 miniutes at 425 degrees, but so far still nothing. On the plus side, it is kinda tasty with some rice and gravy.
     

Share This Page