OS X Thrustmaster Ferarri GT Experience Pedals not detected on Dirt 2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by misteroriginal, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. misteroriginal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #1
    Was playing Dirt 2 with a CH Flight Sim Yoke on my Late 2012 iMac just fine. Push the yoke in to accelerate, and pull it back to apply brakes/reverse. Running Mac OS X 10.8.5 with 24GB RAM, 2GB video RAM & 3.2 GHz Intel Core i5 processor.

    Got a Thrustmaster Ferrari GT Experience Racing Wheel with pedals to make the experience more like driving a car than flying an airplane, but the game will not detect the pedals.

    Any advice?

    Thought the pedals would work per this thread:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1309359
     
  2. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #2
    DiRT 2 supports all standard USB wheels, which means that most modern wheels will work with the game.

    The steering wheels that have been verified to work in DiRT 2 are:

    Logitech Driving Force GT†
    Logitech GT 25†
    Logitech GT 27†
    Logitech MOMO
    Logitech Formula Force EX
    Thrustmaster Modena 360
    You should note that no steering wheel is calibrated by default, so it will require you to manually assign steering controls in the game.

    It is important that the wheel is connected and switched on before launching the game, otherwise it will not be recognised. Once in the game you will be able to calibrate the wheel (even though Choose Preset says 'Keyboard'). After starting the game with the wheel connected, go to Outside → Options → Controls and then press Enter (↵) on the first control assignment (steer left) to calibrate. Now, turn your wheel to the left. Continue to do this for all control assignments.

    † Please note that additional features of some wheels, such as 900 degree steering, force feedback and H-gate shift support may not be supported on the Mac due to lack of driver support in OS X. When support for these features is added we will update the game to include them.

    http://support.feralinteractive.com/en/mac-games/dirt2/faqs/wheels/
     
  3. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #3
    That is one wheel I do not have and have never tried on OSX. Not sure why it would not work as other Thrustmaster wheels work, though without FFB.
     
  4. misteroriginal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #4
    I didn't want to buy a $600 wheel and find out it didn't work, so I got the CH Flight Sim Yoke first for $20 from Half-Price books and got the Thrustmaster for $15 from Craigslist.

    It was your post that made me think it would work.

    2. Thrustmaster Ferrari GT Experience wheel - An inexpensive wheel that works well, but is not as flashy as some other wheels. A lot of plastic and it feels a bit cheap. NO FFB!

    No big deal. Help if you can.
     
  5. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #5
    email feral support and we can investigate. Just say you spoke to me on MacRumors and that will make sure the message gets to me or one of my dev colleagues.

    Edwin
     
  6. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #6
    Oh Crap! Sorry about that! It was the FERRARI CHALLENGE WHEEL not the GT Experience wheel. I will say this though, the GT Experience should work in OSX also.

    Would you be able to use HID Explorer to see if the pedals are showing up in OSX? I can send it to you if you would be willing.

    Oh, also, do not bother spending $600.00 for a wheel as the Logitech wheels are the only ones with FFB and for that much money, you would want FFB. You could always find a MOMO on ebay fairly cheap like this one and they work great.
     
  7. misteroriginal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #7
    I emailed Feral early this morning. No response yet. Should I email them again, referencing you?

    ----------

    Send me HID Explorer. Let's try it out.

    I don't want to buy another wheel yet. The Logitech MOMO is $70 with shipping, so that's $105 for three devices to try to play one $20 game. As awesome as Dirt 2 is, I'd feel pretty stupid if I have the same issue with the MOMO.

    Like I said, I can play the game just fine with the CH Flight Sim Yoke. Just doesn't feel like driving.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  8. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #8
    I understand your concern about buying wheels. Over the many years they have been available I have purchased almost every wheel. I still currently run the Logitech Momo, DFGT, G27 on my Macs and the Fanatech and Thrustmaster wheels were for my PC and PS3 racers. I have not used Windows in a while and the PS3 sits for long periods of time.

    I will say that I have used the Logitech Momo, DFGT and G27 (my current wheel) with Dirt 2 and they all run well including the pedals. I ordered the Ferrari GT Experience wheel to test with my own game as I am curious as to why the pedals would not work.

    HID Explorer
     
  9. misteroriginal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #9
  10. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #10
    Are you using the link in my above post? It links directly to the HID Explorer program I zipped for you hosted on one of my own sites. It should just download from the browser. No redirecting at all. I just tried it on Firefox and Safari and it should work fine.

    Here is the link again for you. HID Explorer
     
  11. misteroriginal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #11
    Sorry about my blindness. I downloaded the HID Explorer. It sees everything except the pedals.
     
  12. edddeduck, Dec 13, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2013

    edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #12
    You have the wheel in PS3 mode. Unplug the wheel, switch it to PC mode and then plug it back in, the pedals will now work. The wheel needs to be unplugged to switch modes.

    Tested just now at Feral using Thrustmaster Ferrari GT Experience Racing Wheel.

    You can see the location of the switch in this image. It's to the left of the wheel.

    [​IMG]

    Edwin
     
  13. misteroriginal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #13
    Alright, smarty pants. It looked like it was in PC mode. Just to humor you, I unplugged it, wiggled the switch back and forth just to make sure it was all the way to the left.

    Dagnabit. I plugged it back in and now HID Explorer sees the pedals!

    Can't talk right now. This old man's gotta go racing!

    Thanks!!!
     
  14. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #14
    No Problem!

    Edwin
     
  15. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #15
    Again, thanks Edwin for helping a Mac racer. We need more of them.
     
  16. misteroriginal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #16
    Yeah, thanks Edwin & JaguarGod!

    The Ferrari GT Experience Racing wheel makes a HUGE difference. I have much better control of the car and don't crash as much. Still not winning, but c'est la vie. Oh! And of course I have it set on Hardcore. The game keeps telling me I'm too stupid for the hardcore difficulty level, but I'm also too stupid to listen.

    Dirt 2 is the best racing game I've ever played. Other games felt like going to work. This one is pure visual bliss and adrenaline rush. I can do q quick race or two when I need a break from work within the allotted 15-minute break time, then return to work all fired up.

    Not bad for an old man, eh!

    Thanks, guys!!!
     
  17. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #17
    I am so happy you are having a good time with Dirt 2. It's a great game and Edwin and company did a great job getting to Mac racers.
     

Share This Page