Thunderbolt display - Cable not long enough

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macpro2000, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #1
    Last week I hooked up a new iMac to 2 new Thunderbolts...one on each side. The cable on the left Thunderbolt only had a couple of inches give when plugging into the iMac in the middle. I took them all back because I couldn't stand the glare and the lower height on the Thunderbolts, and decided to get a new Mac Pro instead so I could hook up 4 of them. One problem: the cord wouldn't be long enough to hook up 4 Thunderbolts unless the Mac Pro is set up in the middle with 4 screens circling it. If I set them up on my desk, there is no way for the cables to reach. Crazy. Now some may say that there is a 6' mdp cable that you could hook up but then you lose all functionality of the ports on the back, the whole point of the Thunderbolt display. Apple needs to make a Thunderbolt display cable extender...but it appears it doesn't exist.
     
  2. JeffiJers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Location:
    U.S.
    #2
    I actually agree with this.... 120% and I only have one display.
     
  3. ABCDEF-Hex, Jan 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014

    ABCDEF-Hex macrumors 6502

    ABCDEF-Hex

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Location:
    NC
    #3
    Are these decent?

    http://www.startech.com/Cables/Thunderbolt-Cables/

    ( 2 year warranty)
     
  4. Johbremat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #4
    Is daisy-chaining the displays not an option?

    If not all four with a single connection to the Mac Pro, would have thought you'd be able to do 3+1, using only two ports on the machine.
     
  5. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #5
    You can do 2+2. The new Mac Pro has three Thunderbolt busses; each will support two Thunderbolt Displays. http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5918
     
  6. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    The TB ports on the TB Display go both ways (in and out). Use a 2 meter TB cable plugged in to the Mac then to the display. Use the display's built-in cable to connect to the next peripheral.
     

Share This Page