Thunderbolt Display Ethernet Port

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Killerbob, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    I am thinking of getting the Thunderbolt Display and wonder if the Ethernet port can be used as an extension of my current network?

    The ATD will be connected to my nMP, which is connected via Ethernet to my LAN, which gets DHCP from my TimeCapsule. So, in this setup; will the Ethernet port on the display work as an extension for my laptop for instance?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Yes, as does the second Ethernet port on the Mac Pro.
     
  3. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
  4. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #4
    Today I was ready to start using this configuration, and it didn't work:(

    I have my nMP connected to my network via Ethernet 1, and I have my ATD connected to my nMP via TB. Now I connect my MBP to the ATD via Ethernet, and all I see in Network settings; nMP - "Display Ethernet/Self-Assigned IP", and on the MBP - "Ethernet/Self-Assigned IP".

    Is there something I need to do to make the MBP connect to my network via the ATD?
     
  5. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #5
    Yes, connect it properly. You need to connect the Thunderbolt display to your notebook in order to use the built in usb, ethernet, webcam, etc.

    If you connect the ethernet port of the display to one of the two ports in the Mac Pro there is some configuration involved. You need to setup connection sharing. It seems like you've gone this route so there is one more step that you need to do. Doing it this way is not recommended. It is unnecessarily complex and has some issues due to having NAT behind NAT (not being able to reach everything in your network for example).

    Connecting both the Mac Pro and the ethernet port of the display with your Time Capsule would make them able to get those settings from the DHCP server. If the Time Capsule doesn't have enough ports you should use a switch (connect it to Time Capsule and connect other devices to switch). This is the setup you want because it won't have any issues as the other options have.
     
  6. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #6
    That's not what I'm attempting to do...

    The setup:

    - Router (DHCP) connected via Ethernet to nMP
    - nMP connected via Thunderbolt to TBD
    - TBD connected via Ethernet to MBP

    So the MBP sees the network, get's DHCP from the router, and has access to internet and ressources on the network, via Ethernet...

    It is the MBP today, and tomorrow it is another unit.
     
  7. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #7
    You are describing the second paragraph of my post. You need to set up internet sharing in that case. However, the setup I described in the third paragraph is the recommended one in this case (too many problems with internet sharing).

    In your setup the mbp will only see the mp because that's what it is connected to. It won't see the tc at all (and vice versa).
     
  8. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #8
    Well that sucks! I was sure I could use the Ethernet connection on the TBD as an extenmsion to the network my nMP is connected to (and the TBD is connected via TB to the nMP). Internet connection sharing is not enough, I need the MBP to see the network... So, I need to look for a new way...

    Can I configure the second Ethernet connection on the nMP to act as an extension to the first one?

    What I effectively is looking for is a way to connect the MBP via Ethernet to my network. I do not have any more ports in my TimeCapsule, and the files the MBP needs to access are on a NAS connected to the TC. I could "just" use WiFi, but the files are often very very big, and it is not workable that way.
     
  9. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #9
    system preferences -> sharing -> internet sharing


    the dialogs there are pretty self explanitory
     
  10. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #10
    But that only allows for internet sharing, not network sharing. There is still established a new relationship between the laptop and the Mac Pro. Sure I can cruise the internet, but I can't connect to the NAS for instance.
     

Share This Page