Thunderbolt Display Repair

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Tavicu, Jan 19, 2014.

  1. Tavicu macrumors regular

    Tavicu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Romania
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a Thunderbolt Display and this week the cat chew the cable with power and thunderbolt.

    From what i understand from ifixit and youtube, you can take the glass off like the one from iMac.

    So i could change the cable on my own.

    The problem is, where i can find a replacement cable? I need something that ships international because i'm from Romania.

    Can i find something like this on eBay? I tried to look but i can't find anything.

    Or Apple will fix it if i pay?

    Thanks,
    Octavian Ruda
     
  2. tomaseriksson macrumors member

    tomaseriksson

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #2
    an alternative fix is to use a separate "stand alone" thunderbolt cable (if you have the port free)
     
  3. Tavicu thread starter macrumors regular

    Tavicu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Romania
    #3
    I'm sorry but i don't understand what you are saying.

    I know that in the inside, it's a thunderbolt connection too.

    Do you mean to replace the cable with a thunderbolt cable like this: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD861ZM/A/apple-thunderbolt-cable-20-m?fnode=51 ?

    I know that i need a cable like this one: http://i01.i.aliimg.com/img/pb/598/675/565/565675598_245.jpg but for thunderbolt display. That is for cinema display.
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    He means your Thunderbolt Display also has a separate thunderbolt port. As long as you do not have something hanging off that port you can use it as an input instead of an output thus all you need is a simple $30 TB cable
     
  5. Tavicu thread starter macrumors regular

    Tavicu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Romania
    #5
    Ok! That's nice! I didn't know it's also an input!

    Thanks!
     
  6. tomaseriksson macrumors member

    tomaseriksson

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #6
    Sorry for slow response, but paulrbeers summarised it perfectly.
     
  7. Tavicu thread starter macrumors regular

    Tavicu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Romania
    #7
    Yup.

    For those who have the same problem, the part number for that cable is 922-9941.
     
  8. tomaseriksson macrumors member

    tomaseriksson

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #8
    but that is the replacement part that requires assembly. He could just as well buy a off the shelf thunderbolt cable and plugin on the back on the monitor.
     
  9. Tavicu thread starter macrumors regular

    Tavicu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Romania
    #9
    I can do that.

    But in my country, the Thunderbolt cable costs 70$
    The replacement part is 80-90$ ...

    So, it's better to replace the cable and leave the back port free. :)

    If i was from US ... was another story, definitely not worth changing the cable.
     
  10. dlassner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #10
    Same problem and I fixed with a separate Thunderbolt cable. But would like to replace the all-in-one 922-9941. Does anyone know where I can find instructions?
     
  11. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #11
    Damn that is expansive. Get a new cat!!

    Have you tried eBay? As you are in Europe , you can buy on any of the eBay sites and no taxes, and relatively cheap shipping
     
  12. Tavicu thread starter macrumors regular

    Tavicu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Romania
    #12
    Hei. This post is very old. In the meantime i sold the display.

    But maybe this will help others.

    I did order the cable from eBay and it's very easy to change it.
    But there was a problem. The cable didn't work. My luck was that i ordered from a nice seller who sent another one right away. Unfortunately that cable didn't work too. I asked him to test it with a display or something since it's just a thunderbolt cable (yup, on the display motherboard it's just another thunderbolt port where this cable connects) but it didn't have one.

    In the end i got a refund and decided not to change the cable anymore.

    After some time i decided to change the laptop + display to an iMac and got the Thunderbolt display fixed at Apple. 100 Euro and was done in one hour.
     
  13. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #13
    I have the same problem but no cat chewed it, it just split on its own. I am not gonna bother to replace the cable too much work. And it is probably going to fail again because of the design.

    Any ideas of a good way to reinforce it? Like a nice clean nice way to do it.. vs just wrapping electrical tape around it lol

    THANKS


     
  14. Daranx macrumors regular

    Daranx

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Sugru?
     

Share This Page