Thunderbolt Display - WINDOWS/BOOTCAMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by LunarianCrystal, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. LunarianCrystal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #1
    Was wondering if the Thunderbolt Display will work on windows through bootcamp. And how do you set up the screen to be an extension? Like have firefox on your laptop screen and run a game on another screen.

    Is this possible? Considering buying this so I can play my PC based games on a LARGER screen. Just wanted to double check that it works with Windows 7.

    Thanks.
     
  2. colshine macrumors regular

    colshine

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
  3. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #3
    Yep, I use it myself on XP and 7 daily. You just adjust the display through the control panel or right click on the desktop and hit "change display resolution".
     
  4. shantiv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    #4
    Hi, I have windows 7 installed on my macbook air, and have also purchased an imac so that I can use it as an external display. I've connected my imac to the macbook air using thunderbolt cable, however when I boot into windows on the macbook air, I cant get the session to display on the imac. Can you please advise as to what steps I need to take to make this work?

    Many thanks
     
  5. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #5
    Can you get a picture on the iMac in Mac OS too, or is it just Windows that you cannot get a picture on?
     
  6. dbootcamper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    #6
    I'm running bootcamp on a MacBook Air with thunderbolt and trying to get it to work with an Apple 27" thunderbolt display. I've updated all of the drivers and read the apple tech notes. My experience so far is disappointing.

    Per Apple's tech note Windows 7 will only see the thunderbolt display on boot. So if the devices are connected when Windows boots it works great.

    However, once you disconnect the Air, say to go to a meeting then you can't reconnect them without rebooting. Additionally, if they were connected on boot and then disconnected Windows will not fully shutdown. Every time I try to shutdown it just hangs.

    These two issues result in an unacceptable experience. We'll be returning the thunderbolt display and looking at the Dell U2713HM.
     
  7. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #7
    So are you solely using your MBA in windows?
     
  8. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #8
    I believe currently, its not plug n play when in Windows environment.
     
  9. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #9
    Why don't you run Windows on the iMac in the first place?
     
  10. jtechtx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    #10
    It sounds like you are trying to run Target Display Mode. According to Apple's website, this is not supported with Boot Camp:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219?viewlocale=en_US#sysreq

    See question #24
     
  11. welitz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #11
    retina

    have retina15, and even tried get assistance in macstore. cant make it in bootcamp, but with parallels 7 it works. Problem for me is, I cant understand how to configure it best way. I was so happy last week when receiving monitor, until i went in bootcamp mode. I have wind 7 ultimate. So it should work ???
    Anyone can advice how to configure ?

    Jan

     
  12. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #12
    what are you having trouble with? I don't believe you can do dual displays in Parallel, at least I can't, but you can in bootcamp which my 2nd display extends the first, but not in Parallel. Its either on 1st or 2nd display, cannot utilize both.
     
  13. welitz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #13
    parallel with thunderbolt display

    works fine for me...It works fantastic with win7 ultimate. Its just when working over network to server problems occur. Windows, with adm program, get stuck often. In bootcamp that goes much better,,,,, but impossible ( for me ) to configure thunderbolt monitor. Been in contact with mac support, and still not any solution. Just regret that fantastic monitor. It is so nice, but I cant use it as it was planned.


     
  14. kfury77 macrumors regular

    kfury77

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #14
    Does the Thunderbolt Display's USB ports and camera work when using Bootcamp too?
     
  15. okkam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    #15
    The USB ports and ethernet definitely do. I haven't tested the camera.
     

Share This Page