Thunderbolt display with Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Help404, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. Help404 macrumors newbie

    Help404

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    France
    #1
    Hello,

    I own a Mac Pro early 2008 with two ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 Mo in it.

    Would the last thunderbolt display fit, even with an adaptor?

    Thanks for your consideration.

    Best,
     
  2. g4cube macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #2
    No. The Apple Thunderbolt Display can only be connected to a computer that has a Thunderbolt port.
     
  3. sirio76, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014

    sirio76 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    #3
    Edit. I was wrong.
     
  4. Volkan1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #4
    Actually you are wrong. Please see http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US#16 and scroll down to "16. What are the system requirements for using my Apple Thunderbolt Display in OS X?".
     
  5. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    Thunderbolt needs a Thunderbolt port on the Mac. An older Mac with Mini Display port could be connected to a Cinema Display.


    I think it is time to start planning the retirement of the 2008 Mac Pro. There is too much it is missing....USB 3, Thunderbolt 1 & 2, 4K capabilities. Donate it to Good Will for a tax credit.

    Even consider a new iMac if we get an updated one announced in the fall with Retina display, TB2, DDR4 memory, and latest Intel CPU and chipset.
     

Share This Page