Thunderbolt Ethernet

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by AFEPPL, Dec 16, 2015.

  1. AFEPPL macrumors 68020

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #1
    OK, long story short, Ethernet adapter worked fine the last time i was in Dallas around June/July time.
    I've since updated/graded the rMBP to El Cap and the first time i came to use it last friday it wouldn't work no matter what i did. So i ran the update again last night so I'm now on 10.11.2. My Yosemite laptop, (10.10.5) is also not working.

    I've done all the usual things, deleted the locations (so i only have Automatic left now), I've made sure the adapter is in Link-local only mode for IPv6. I've removed the bridge and device and re-added. If i look in system report, it does show the device is present and states it as active. If i remove the device, it also see the device has been removed. I have a direct connection to an Apple Time Machine, the cable is fine. I've tried my other two rMBPs, again, same thing. they all see the dongle, but nothing works. I've renewed the lease, I've rebooted more times than the whole of the windows install base!!!!! I've tried moving ports, nothing. Ive created a new location and added only the thunderbolt bridge and adapter to the location - nothing, still shows as active in system report, but wont go green.

    I see this is a if not common problem, a well known one lets say, but i can't get this PoS to kick back into life.
    If all else fails I'm going to take the dongle into apple and see if they can check it.. Any suggestions welcome.
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    It sounds like the adapter has failed. I have several of them in use and haven't seen failures so I doubt there's a widespread problem.
     
  3. AFEPPL thread starter macrumors 68020

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Well known problem as in if you do a search for "thunderbolt ethernet El captain not working" you see threads all talking about the same and its a problem linked to upgrading to el cap.

    I can walk the adapter to apple and test... This seems more like software than adapter however as when the adapter fails it wont show in the system report. But i can see the adapter when its plugged in.

    Anyone else with anything to suggest?
     
  4. kazibole macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    #4
    But you mentioned that it does not work on two different computer with two different OS versions. This usually means hardware fault.
     
  5. AFEPPL, Dec 16, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2015

    AFEPPL thread starter macrumors 68020

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #5
    All the post around fails adapter state the device doesn't appear in the system report.Mine does and it reports active. Can anyone confirm that?

    Adapter shows both under thunderbolt and under ethernet cards.

    From apples website:-
    • Verify that the device appears in System Information:
      Choose Apple menu > About This Mac. In the window that appears, click Overview, then click the System Report button to open System Information.

      In the window that appears, see if the Thunderbolt device is listed below Hardware in the Contents list. If the device appears but does not work, review the device’s documentation for further troubleshooting steps.
     

Share This Page