Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

artcows

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 28, 2012
Hey guys, thanks in advance for the help...

When the new 21 inch iMacs came out in late 2012, I did not hesitate to scoop one up. Though I had initially planned to max it out with the better processor, an SSD, and 16GB ram, when the time came, it would take too long to ship, so I was a fool and bought the most basic configuration possible... Oh, the impatient stupidity... I know... :confused: I've been regretting those fateful minutes of impulse at the Apple Store for the past two years.

Anyway, now I'm at a point where this computer cannot quite handle multiple applications at once, and as I'm a photographer, having Photoshop and Lightroom open at once is a must. Not to mention that I won't even dare to attempt to open Safari, Messages, or Mail while working, and have succumbed to dealing with those on my phone given how much faster it is.

So I was thinking of upgrading the hard drive to an SSD, and as these new iMacs are quite difficult to modify internally (if any of you have done this and recommend it, then disregard the rest of the post) my idea was to buy the LaCie Rugged External Thunderbolt SSD (currently $299), and run my OS off of that.

The other option would be to sell this computer and use that money to pony up for a better, more future-proof set up.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

mvmanolov

macrumors 6502a
Aug 27, 2013
Hey guys, thanks in advance for the help...