Thunderbolt update in Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by MistaBishi, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. MistaBishi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #1
    Hey all,

    Running Lion DP4 as my primary, and I want to install the Thunderbolt Firmware Update that was just released. But Apple haven't appeared to have pushed it out to developers running Lion.

    Do you think that it will get pushed out when Lion goes final, or will I have to go back to SL to install the update?
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    It's possible that Lion already has these fixes. Have you tried downloading the installer directly from Apple's support website and trying to install it? Does it work?
     
  3. superericla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #3
    I've tried that. It doesn't work and states it's incompatible software.
     
  4. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Then it's either that Lion already includes the fixes or Apple hasn't updated the installer for that update to support Lion yet.
     
  5. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #5
    Or it's missing from DP4 and the update will come after Lion is actually released (or it's missing from DP4 but will be included in the final version).
     
  6. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    That's usually not the case with Apple. Major releases usually have all updates pre-installed already.
     
  7. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #7
    Software ≠ firmware.

    You need to apply the firmware to your hardware, then software that is written to use it can use it properly.

    Lion in not a released OS, so it is reasonable to think that firmware updaters (things that could potentially do nasty things to your hardware) would not yet be validated against them. But since it is under NDA, anyone who has it would have to get updaters for it (if they exist) through those same NDA channels.
     
  8. Atarikid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #8

    Very true, and I would not do it anyway (if it was possible in anyway). If this firmware isn't performed well it could lockup your hardware.
     
  9. MistaBishi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #9
    Thunderbolt update appeared in the GM, so all is good :)
     

Share This Page