Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Oldmanmac, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. Oldmanmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #1
    I am wondering if this is possible.....

    I had a problem with 2 OWC FW drives not working on my 2011 iMac. After going round n' round with OWC for replacement (they were new) I decided to give Apple a shout. (All my other FW drives worked fine, just not the OWC).

    I showed them the problem. Since I still had AC and they couldn't find anything, they replaced the logic board. Same outcome, I left it alone and trashed the OWC's, as they would only do USB2.

    That said to ask this. Later I tried a Thunderbolt drive and it didn't work for me. Is it realistic that maybe the port was dead or just an incompatible drive?
     
  2. carestudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #2
    are you using Thunderbolt to FireWire adapter?
     
  3. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Its possible the cable is bad. If you are using one cable for the OWC drives and another for the other drives I would suspect the cable. I've used OWC FW drives for years without issue, except for a bad cable now and again.
     
  4. Oldmanmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #4
    Well, trying tomove everything to the new iMac, the TB port on the original iMac still didn't work. So, I went from the new iMac's TB to the FW on the old iMac.
     
  5. carestudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #5
    did you try different thunderbolt cable? despite that you are using OWC's thunderbolt drive, caldigit has some good generic troubleshooting steps for Thunderbolt devices

    http://www.caldigit.com/KB/index.asp?KBID=151

    you may try update OS, cables.
     
  6. Oldmanmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #6
    Yes I did try 2 different cables. Ended up using FW800 (through an adapter>)
     
  7. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    Why use FW at all? Drives do SATA 1/2/3, not FW or USB. It is the enclosure that does the translation between SATA and FW or USB or TB. So move the drives to USB 3 enclosures and hook them to a USB 3 hub.
     
  8. Oldmanmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #8
    MCASan
    You are correct in that my current enclosures are FW. As I replace them I will chose then.
     
  9. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #9
    What MCASan was suggesting is that you could get new enclosures for the drives that dont work via Firewire and connect them via USB3...
     

Share This Page