Tiger 10.4.11 really slow..

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Konner, Mar 28, 2014.

  1. Konner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #1
    TenFourFox is basically unusable on my iMac G3. It's the 600Mhz Graphite model (Summer 2001), but it has 256MB of ram. If I upgraded it to 1GB of ram would tiger's performance increase, or is the processor just too slow?
     
  2. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #2
    I'm using a iBook G3 600MHz with 640MB of RAM and T4F. Its not ultra fast and snappy, but usable. T4F takes a while to launch, but once it does its pretty fast.
     
  3. Konner thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #3
    T4F takes a while to launch and webpages take 5-10 minutes to fully load, and I constantly get a spinning pinwheel, and I can't really do anything else but sit there.
     
  4. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #4
    Even though your system is pretty slow and could use more ram,web pages shouldn't take anywhere near that long to load with T4F.

    -did you do a clean install?
    -is there some other program you installed slowing things down?
     
  5. eljanitor macrumors 6502

    eljanitor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #5
    10.3 Panther, may be a good solution for you.
     
  6. Konner, Mar 29, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2014

    Konner thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #6
    That's exactly what I was thinking really.

    And yes I did a clean install. I installed Mac OS 9.2 first, then Tiger.
     
  7. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #7
    The trouble with panther is that not many browser options,and the ones that run (safari,camino) don't render a lot of the modern web pages.
     
  8. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #8
    RAM would definitely help the situation; four or five years ago, I had to run an 800 MHz iBook G3 with 256 MB of RAM with Tiger as my main machine for about a month, and even then it was barely usable.

    You won't see jaw-dropping improvements, but maxing out the RAM will see large speed improvements almost all around the OS.
     
  9. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #9
    Well, considering you are using Tiger with bear-minium specs, I would recommend a RAM upgrade. Like you said, 1GB should be plenty to make Tiger happy.
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    Tiger runs okay with 512 MB, but 1 GB is best. I recommend maxing it. RAM is cheap and is a great performance booster.
     
  11. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #11
    I guess the processor makes a difference, but on my G4 Tiger with 512 MB of RAM wasn't any different than with 1.5 GB, or so it seemed. It does make a difference with Leopard, though.
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    Leopard is a memory pig. Plain and Simple!
     
  13. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #13
    I have leopard on a 800MHz iMac G4 with 512MB of Ram, slow, but it is usable.
     
  14. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #14
    Newer versions of TenFourFox use WAAAAY more RAM than it used to. Even with Tiger, I don't think you're doing yourself any favors with less than 768MB of RAM. RAM is cheap enough now, that I don't see any reason not to upgrade an old Mac, especially a G3. I think Tiger needs 768MB minimum, and Leopard really needs at least 1.25GB.
     
  15. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #15
    Tiger's minimum is 256 MB of RAM, and Leopard's is 512 MB.
     
  16. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #16
    I'm not talking about Apple's minimum requirements, I'm talking about how much RAM should be installed for the OS and other Apps to perform well enough to be comfortable.
     
  17. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Leopard with 512MB RAM? I wouldn't wish that horror upon anyone...
     
  18. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #18
    Use Classilla. It's the only browser that gets updates for 9 through 10.3. Even though it only boots in Classic mode, it's still worth it.
     
  19. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    Yeah, if you leave the Eye Candy on. Turn it off and it gets better.

    No, it can't match Tiger in resource use. But then, Tiger cannot match Leopard in functionality and modern compatibility.

    Personally, I'd rather sacrafice a few seconds of time just to be able to use programs and capabilities Tiger can't.

    Leopard has better print server capabilities and Tiger just SUCKS in a server environment. No way I'd go back to that unstable POS at work! It's a lot like Mavericks in that way on my MacPro at work.

    ----------

    I use it at work on a G4/450 AGP with 192mb ram. Works just fine. Of course, all I am using it for at the moment is a print server and no heavy apps, but it runs Photoshop CS4 just fine when I need it to.

    That Mac by the way had ~1.7GB when I installed Leopard (via TDM). And it was used as a production machine for five years. Same apps my G5 (and now MacPro) had. Little bit slower, but it handled Adobe CS4, QuarkXPress 8, Acrobat 9 Pro, Suitcase Fusion 2 and Office 2008 just fine.
     
  20. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Got 1GB in my iMac G4 and Tiger runs a dream. Upgrading your ram may be your solution. If not I guess you have no choice but to downgrade to Panther.
     
  21. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #21
    You run CS4 on 192 MB of RAM? Why did you remove the RAM exactly?

    I could never recommend downgrading to Panther. Tiger is the perfect blend of compatibility, support, and modern feel. It's networking though is absolutely terrible.
     
  22. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #22
    I run Photoshop CS4 on occasion. Mainly, the G4 is just idling and serving as a print server.

    There's no way I'd continue to use it as a production Mac with only 192mb.

    I took the sticks out because I needed them in another Mac. I brought my G5 back to work and my employee is using that now and not the G4.
     
  23. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #23
    Really? I don't have an issue with it on 512! It does run better with 1.5 GB+, but I can live with 512 if I have to.
     
  24. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    Well Tiger with 256MB RAM was awful on my 800MHz iMac G4. I have it at 768 now and will get it to 1GB. My PMG5 DC 2.0 runs very well with only 2.5GB RAM with Leopard, but I assumed 512MB on leopard would be less than fun accordingly.
     
  25. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #25
    Would you be so kind as to post a list or tutorial of all the optimizations you do to Leopard? I am running a dual 1.8 G5 and even then there is choppiness and UI lag (e.g. dragging into and out of Dock, opening apps on Dock, etc.).
     

Share This Page