Tiger 10.4.11 to Snow Leopard 10.6.3

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bigredrowr, Mar 22, 2011.

1. bigredrowr macrumors newbie

Hey all, I have had Tiger on my MBP since i bought it in August 2007. The MBP has a 2.4 Ghz IC2Duo and 2GB of DDR2 SDRAM. I need to update to Snow Leopard for numerous reasons, the foremost being school work and the fact that I just bought an iPhone 4 and can't sync anything on my computer with it.

The question I have is whether or not I can use the 29.99 Snow Leopard to upgrade my OS. I have read that you can do it with no issues, or that you can do it and it will tell you that you need OS 10.5 (Leopard). Being a student, I can't really afford to shell out 129.99 for the box set, especially when Windows users can upgrade from XP to 7 without any issues other than hardware.

If I can upgrade straight to Snow Leopard, how do I go about doing it? I've never installed anything on my MBP other than Firefox and VLC, so you can probably see where installing a whole new OS would be daunting. Should I backup all of my data on my hard drive to an external? These questions, etc...

If anybody can get back to me on this, I would be eternally grateful.

2. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

Angelo95210

Yes you can use the 29.99 update. I did it from Tiger on my 2007 MBP Core Duo. Works very well and this is my main computer.

3. Fishrrman macrumors G3

"The question I have is whether or not I can use the 29.99 Snow Leopard to upgrade my OS."

Yes, you can.

DO NOT pay any mind to anyone who says that you cannot.

Just get the $30 DVD, boot the MacBook from it, and run the installer. That's about it.

4. bigredrowr thread starter macrumors newbie

So how do I go about the process? Do I need to backup my whole hard drive to an external? What is the difference between a "clean install" and just an upgrade? How do I perform a clean install?

Basically, does anybody have a step by step guide that I can follow?

5. satcomer, Mar 23, 2011