Tiger on a 350Mhz Imac & CRT calibration

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by comda, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. comda, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2015

    comda macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #1
    Greetings Macrumors!

    I am the proud owner of two Imac G3's. the first, my favourite, a Tangerine DV model which has a 400Mhz PPC G3 1GB of Ram, 80Gb hard drive, and a DVD ROM.

    The second i just got a few months ago and its a indigo 350mhz no firewire, 512mb ram, a 40gb drive and CD rom. The only issue is ive noticed the colors look odd. Ive noticed the CRT has some knobs at the back and my dad being an electrician told me those set up the CRts colors. i think i shifted one when doing my PRam battery mod a while back.. If anyone knows anything that would be nice.. :)

    Anyways. although this machine can only run panther (So apple says) im curious if i can install Tiger on the hard drive using the Tangerine model and then just plant the drive inside the INdigo model. Any ideas if this will work?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Yes. It will work.

    Here's how I did it on my 233mhz tray-loader.
    1. Put the internal HD in an IDE external enclosure.
    2. Hooked it up to my Quicksilver and created one less than 8GB partition and a second partition for the remainder.
    3. Formatted the partitions with OS9 drivers installed (this is important to do, even if you are not going to install OS9).
    4. Used my Quicksilver to install Tiger.
    5. Put the drive back in the iMac and booted

    It came right up in Tiger.

    You have to have a less than 8GB boot partition because early iMacs can only access the first 8GB of a drive for booting purposes.
     
  3. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #3
    Its currently booting Panther on a 15Gb partition... Is this only in Tiger? Its an indigo DV model slot loader...
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    You could probably just upgrade it then. The limitation I speak of is for the early tray loading Macs. It's a limitation on the IDE controller and has nothing to do with the OS.
     
  5. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #5
    I wasnt able to.. Mactracker even showed i cant run tiger because the indigo has no firewire...

    My other issue is CRt calibration. do you know anything about that?
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    I would guess you should just be able to upgrade the HD by pulling it and connecting it to a different Mac (your other iMac) via an enclosure or adapter or something. Then just upgrade it and then put it back.

    As to your other issue, I can't help there.
     
  7. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #7
    Thanks for the confirmation! Didnt want to take both of them apart and find out it wouldn't work.

    As to the CRT if anyone Can shed some light, it would be appreciated!
     
  8. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #8
    Isn't there a way to calibrate the color in System Prefs > Displays > Color ?
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    You can easily run Tiger on any NewWorld Mac, such as that iMac, even if it doesn't have FireWire. Apple used FireWire as an artificial limit to remove older Macs from their list of supported machines. For calibrating the CRT, locate a G3 iMac service manual. All you need to know about it is in there. Be extremely careful. The CRT can hold a charge long after it is unplugged that can easily kill you.
     
  10. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    When I see color problems on a CRT, one of the first things I always try is a degauss.

    It's not a guaranteed fix, but can fix some problems(although admittedly this usually fixes problems like a distorted screen in one area). Basically, the shadow mask behind the glass can become magnetized and deflect the electron beams coming from the electron guns-degaussing fixes this.

    I'm not sure how one degausses an iMac, but would be very surprised if the ability does not exist. My similar vintage "Blueberry" Apple CRT has a discreet degauss button.

    And, as Intell says, be very careful with CRTs-they can kill you.
     
  11. A.Goldberg, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2015

    A.Goldberg macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    I used to help the computer guy fix the computers back in the day at school. I remember one of the iMacs got out of wack and it's a pain to make adjustments compared to most other monitors. The iMac G3 requires the MacTest Pro CD with the Display Adjustment Utility for display adjustment/calibration.

    See page 165 & 207-255 here: http://www.mac-net.nl/apple-service-manuals/Manuals/imac_summer01.pdf

    And yes, be careful with dealing with CRTs. They can give you lethal shock. There are no control knobs on the iMacs as far as I know. I know some older CRT monitors had this. I have never seen them inside or outside of an iMac.

    It could be when you were inside you knocked some things around too hard. Or your CRT is failing which is not an uncommon occurrence.
     
  12. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #12
    Ill post pictures if i have time as im heading home for Easter. My dad pointed out these knobs.. Ill snap a pic of that and what the screen looks like compared to my tangerine imac.
     
  13. A.Goldberg macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Yeah do that. I looked very briefly through that service manual I linked you to. I didn't see anything about knobs, but again I spent only a few minutes scrolling through.

    The manual I linked you to is the Summer 01 Model. Your 350mhz is the Summer 00 model. I'm not sure how great the differences are between the the two but honestly they I'd suspect they wouldn't change things too much. They did mention there are two different CRT manufactures, so that could have something to do with it.

    Where are these knobs you speak of? Inside the casing or outside?
     
  14. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #14
    I dont know if i would call them knobs... In the photo with the arrow they are the metal sticks. According to my father, the electrician these are handles in which the CRT is manually adjusted. But i cant find any information on it anywhere. I tried seeing if my Tangerine model has the same but the orange plastic isnt as clear as the blue one is. \

    Anyways. here are the photos. Showing my tangerine model on the right with proper colors and the indigo to the right..
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Those are the focusing rings. Do not mess or adjust those. They are epoxied set from the factory.
     
  16. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #16
    What are focusing rings? Its just the color on that screen is really faded...
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    They focus the electron guns and the other internal parts of the CRT. To correct the colour, you need to run the Apple service application that sets the colour or you can try calibrating it via OS X's monitor calibration feature.
     
  18. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #18
    Alright. Where would one get this apple service application?
     
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    It's not publicly available and to share it without Apple's consent is illegal as it is copyrighted and only for use by AASPs.
     
  20. Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #20
    @ comda

    did you even try using systempreferences -> monitors etc. to calibrate? Also OS 9 had software monitor calibration.

    A certain hue or tint can be a sign for a defective flyback transformer, but the hue is pinkish then. There is a guide on the internet for the flyback transformer.
     

Share This Page