Tiger on iMac G3 350 MHz

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ghking, Oct 20, 2007.

  1. ghking macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    I have the Tiger installation CD's that came with my eMac. I was wondering if it would be possible to install tiger on my iMac G3 even though its below the minimum system requirements. Heres what its got-

    - CPU: 350 MHz PPC 750
    - bus: 100 MHz
    - performance: 1005, MacBench 5.0 (Power Mac G3/300 = 1000); 100, Speedmark
    - RAM: 64 MB, expandable to 1,024 MB using two PC100 SDRAM (3.3 V, 64-bit, 168-pin, 100 MHz)
    - VRAM: 8 MB SGRAM
    - Video: supports resolutions of 640 x 480, 800 x 600, and 1024 x 768 using ATI RAGE Pro 128 chip set
    - monitor: 15" (13.8" viewable) multiscan to 1024 x 768
    - L2 cache: 512 KB 140 MHz (5:2) backside cache
    - hard drive: 7 GB EIDE drive. Maximum IDE drive size is 128 GB without third-party support.
    - CD-ROM: 24x maximum throughput
    - USB: 2 separate USB 1.1 ports and controllers
    - FireWire: none
     
  2. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #2
  3. Maxiseller macrumors 6502a

    Maxiseller

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Little grey, chilly island.
    #3
    A quick google search will help in installing tiger on not-officially supported machines.

    The question is, do you really want to? Tiger runs sluggishly on my girlfriends ibook with 512 ram - you'd be better off going to 10.3
     
  4. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    I don't think so.

    I think your eMac install disks can only be used on eMac's .... :(

    Sorry meant to say, you can install Tiger, but not with your eMac disks. (as far as I know)
     
  5. ghking thread starter macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #5
    yeah i know 10.3 or something would be better but i dont have the installation disks for anything lower.

    And how slow exactly? i dont think i would use it that much so it wouldnt be that big of a deal but if it like will basicaly not work at all than it wouldnt be worth it
     
  6. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Actually, Tiger works acceptably well on a G3-350 (it's supported on the Blue/White G3s - I used to use one as a file server running Tiger) it's just supposed only to work with machines that support firewire...

    Just make sure you've got plenty of RAM and enough disk space - you'll need at least 10-15 Gb free after you've installed Tiger + Apps.
     
  7. ghking thread starter macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
  8. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #8
    i can send you 10.3 if you want it, tiger on that comp as a desktop is going to suck even with high memory-- unless u use it as a server

    ubuntu linux is super cool (and free) on old hardware if you want to try that out. heres a link to some cd images:

    http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/
     
  9. ghking thread starter macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #9
    yea if you could send me 10.3 that would be awesome. it will probably have a better chance of working. Not a big fan of linux though. too sketchy.
     

Share This Page