Tiger or Leapord with my MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gazfocus, Jan 13, 2008.

  1. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #1
    I received my Macbook pro on Friday and the box has a picutre of a MBP with the Tiger branding on it. Does this mean my MBP has Tiger installed or will it still have Leapord? (I've not opened it yet as I'm unsure whether to keep it).
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Its possible it will have Leopard on, if not it will have a Leopard drop-in disk to install :)
     
  4. Ryox macrumors 6502a

    Ryox

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    If its a tiger machine there should be an Leopard upgrade disk in the box
    Oh is this the one you got with the insurance claim? Could be a refurb Machine.
     
  5. gazfocus thread starter macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #5
    Yeah it's the insurance one. The date on the box says something like 2007/12/xx (xx where I can't remember what the day is). So I don't think it's a refurb machine.

    Thanks
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Chances are that it has Leopard preinstalled, but the only way to tell is to open the box and look for a DVD.
     
  7. Designer1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #7
    I bought my MBP almost a month ago from Apple. It showed Tiger on the box, just like yours. When I opened it, it had Tiger installed with a Leopard upgrade DVD. I just had to upgrade it to Leopard on my own.

    If you got it from Apple and it doesn't have a Leopard DVD (for some reason) then just call Apple and I'm sure they will send you one.
     
  8. gazfocus thread starter macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #8
    It came direct from my insurance company (but I do know they had to specifically order it in because when they told me they were replacing my powerbook, they said they had to wait for Apple notebooks to be delivered).
     
  9. Nick012 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    #9
    Open it and find out. No offense but whats the point in asking us when you can just look for yourself? Guys! Is my t-shirt grey or black today?

    Edit: OK, that sounds really snarky. Sorry about that. I'll leave it there but it was unduly harsh. Apologies.:eek:
     
  10. gazfocus thread starter macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #10
    Hi. While I understand where you're coming from, you need to know why I haven't opened it. I am considering selling it to buy a new MBP when they come out. I will get more for it in a sealed box that if I had opened it, and that's why I've not opened it.
     
  11. Nick012 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    #11
    Ah! I see. Fair enough.
     
  12. Ryox macrumors 6502a

    Ryox

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    With Macworld only a couple of days away, I would wait if i were you too.
     
  13. gazfocus thread starter macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #13
    What do you mean you would wait?
     
  14. Ryox macrumors 6502a

    Ryox

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    wait to open it and see if there was an update of the MBP
     
  15. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    If you are going to sell it, more than likely, the person buying will want to know if it has Leopard installed or in the box.
     
  16. gazfocus thread starter macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #16
    Yeah, that's what I'm thinking. I'm also thinking I might advertise it as having Leapord and if the buyer finds it hasn't, I'll pay for the up-to-date upgrade which is only £5.95
     

Share This Page