Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VAmin

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 1, 2004
Hey guys,
I'm a college student looking to get Tiger. Do you think the student discount will come out cheaper than the current Amazon rebate?
Thanks,
Victor

wordmunger

macrumors 603
Sep 3, 2003
North Carolina
VAmin said:
Hey guys,
I'm a college student looking to get Tiger. Do you think the student discount will come out cheaper than the current Amazon rebate?
Thanks,
Victor

Yes, usually it's around $69. I suppose it's possible that things could be different this time, though. It looks like the Amazon rebate might hang around long enough that you could compare them directly.

VAmin

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 1, 2004
Thanks for the reply.
So has there been fluctuation in the student pricing for previous versions? I'm just curious because the rebate comes accross as being just a pre-order thing. Even so, they're both pretty good deals.

wordmunger

macrumors 603
Sep 3, 2003
North Carolina
VAmin said:
Thanks for the reply.
So has there been fluctuation in the student pricing for previous versions? I'm just curious because the rebate comes accross as being just a pre-order thing. Even so, they're both pretty good deals.
I believe both Panther and Jaguar were $69. Don't remember before that.

The Amazon rebate says you can order until 5/31. It would be pretty rotten of them to change their minds after the fact, but I seriously doubt the student version will be more than $95 anyway.

VAmin

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 1, 2004
Thanks a lot- I'll be picking up a copy the day it's released :cool:

nbs2

macrumors 68030
Mar 31, 2004
A geographical oddity
Don't pick up Tiger on release date

VAmin said:
Thanks a lot- I'll be picking up a copy the day it's released :cool: