Tiger to Snow Leopard for $29?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by drummer22, Aug 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drummer22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #1
    This isn't something I plan on doing due to the fact that I have Leopard.

    However, I read somewhere that as long as you have an Intel based Mac that the $29 upgrade to Snow Leopard will work, even if you have TIGER.

    Is this true?
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    For the 2039423904th time. Yes. But it violates the EULA.
     
  3. Dany M macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    It does? Then how come they didn't have the disc check to see if the OS is tiger or leopard?
     
  4. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #5
    I am not Mr. Jobs. There are plenty of things that violate EULA's, plenty of people still decide to break them. Very similar to people not paying sales tax on Amazon.
     
  5. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #6
    If there was a system check, you wouldn't be able to install Snow Leopard on a brand new hard drive. They just use the same disc for the upgrades (not drop ins), single user license, and family pack license.
     
  6. Dany M macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    But getting snow leopard if you have tiger is actually against the EULA?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page