Tiger to snow leopard upgrade!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dtorre, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. Dtorre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #1
    so i've done a lot of research, and a vast majority of people are saying that if you install the $30 upgrade to snow leopard onto an intel based mac running Tiger, it works!

    I have two questions regarding this...

    Is it true!? because i don't want to waste $30 for nothing

    Would i be able to run logic 9 after this upgrade?

    my only goal is to run logic 9. I have no interest in any of the features that come with leopard or snow leopard
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Yes, technically it is possible. But it is against the EULA.

    You will then be able to run Logic Pro 9.
     
  3. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #3
    Yes, but it is in violation of the SLA. If you want to keep it legal you need the Mac Box Set for Snow Leopard.

    Yes.
     
  4. Dtorre thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #4
    does that mean i would not be able to update it?
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    No. You will be able to update, there is no licensing involved with Mac OS X.

    You just violate a text document called the EULA.
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    If you get a warning after the update about the fonts asking if you want the OS to fix it now ... DO IT NOW. The I'll do it myself later button is a PIA method to recover from, unless Apple changed the popup after the initial release to repeat.
     
  7. dernhelm macrumors 68000

    dernhelm

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    middle earth
    #7
    I've seen people indicate that it is against the EULA, but thankfully Apple doesn't enforce it. I say thankfully, not because I want to deprive Apple of any of my money, but because I myself ran into a situation - I had a hard drive failure 2 months after I upgraded my Tiger install to Leopard and Leopard to SL.

    I own the Leopard family pack (Leopard + iLife + iWork), but have it for 2 PPC machines, and 1 Intel machine, so I bought just one SL license (rather than the whole SL FP). The SL machine lost it's harddrive, but once I got a new hard drive, I could simply install SL directly, because the installer assumes I'm honest and actually own the software legally - I didn't need to reinstall Leopard for no reason.

    A lot of people tend to view this as a hole, I simply view it as Apple assuming I actually am honest, and not needing to verify it in annoying ways. That's corporate behavior I tend to want to reward.
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    ...and many of them are crawling through it.
     
  9. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #9
    It will phone-home back to apple and possible legal and criminal action will be taken against you. I know someone this happened to, and it is just not worth it.
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    Fantasize much?
     
  11. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #11
    I'm told the line is direct to Steve.
     
  12. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #12
    Yes, its true. And yes, you will be able to run Logic 9 PRO.:D Good lucK!
     

Share This Page