Tiger VS Leopard (Mac mini c2d 1.83 ghz)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by paetrick, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. paetrick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #1
    I installed Leopard a few days ago on my mac mini (the new one with c2d, 1.83 ghz, 1GB ram).

    In tiger Exposé / dashboard / minimizing windows was amazingly smooth, everything ran very smooth. All this is sooo MUCH slower in leopard :S, Kinda feels like having VISTA on a 3 year old computer. My computer went from super snappy to a very slow computer , at least it feels slow because of the slowdowns in expose/dashboard etc etc (I've all the leopard updates).

    My question is: Is it suppose to be like this? I installed Tiger again to rule out any hardware failure, but it's as smooth as always :) I think it's kinda bad if on of their 2007 macs can't even run the newest OS smooth :S What's this all about? I really want the new macbook but I don't want it to feel like Im running Vista on my 1ghz dell laptop :(...

    (The overall performance in Tiger is waay better, browsing the web etc)
     
  2. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #2
    My Mac mini 2.0Ghz C2D's came with Leopard installed. Both have been running very smoothly.

    I'm not so sure that a mere 170 MHz of processor power would make such a huge difference.

    The only thing I can suggest is that you back up your files and do a clean install.
     
  3. paetrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #3
    Well I did a clean install 2 days ago when I installed leopard, so that's not it.

    Tiger runs so smooth but misses many important features that I need :/...
     
  4. Borjan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #4
    Are you talking slow as in... a little bit jerkier?

    Or like... unbearably slow?

    Because I have a 1.66 Core Duo Mini, and my Dashboard/Expose is silky smooth. I have 2gb of RAM though.

    Your CPU isn't doing something on the side is it?
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    One thing is for sure, Leopard on the new MBs will never be like Vista. Heck, I use Leopard on my plastic MB and it's smooth. Except when heavy graphics come into play, like scrolling thru the grid view in iTunes.
     
  6. kraftzwerg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    #6
    Ram

    My guess is that the performance of your Mac Mini is constrained by RAM - 1GB is fine for Tiger, but Leopard needs more to run smooth, especially since the 1GB is also used for video RAM (integrated graphics).


     
  7. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Yvan256

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Runs smoothly here

    Mac mini Core 2 Duo 1.83 GHz, however I do have 2.5 GiB of RAM. As others have said, 1 GiB is not really enough for Leopard.
     
  8. paetrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #8
    Alright :), What kind of ram does the mini use? is there 2 x 512 inside it right now or 1 x 1GB?

    Just to be clear: Exposé and dashboard is smooth for you?
     
  9. Borjan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #9
    I've got 2GB here, and its nice and smooth.

    That being said though, look online for guides to open up and upgrade the RAM on the Mini. I did it, and its perfectly doable for anyone to do, its just a little trickier than doing it on a Macbook for example.

    Go slow, and don't be afraid to give a little elbow grease getting the case off when required!

    Oh, and I'm pretty sure you will be needing PC2-5300 Sodimms. :)
     
  10. kraftzwerg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    #10
    I think your Mini has 2 x 512, but you can check this:
    [Apple Menue] -> About this Mac -> More info -> click on Memory in Hardware section
     
  11. priller macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #11
    Both are smooth on my macbook with 1GB of ram.
     
  12. paetrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #12
    SO-DIMM 1GB DDR2 PC2-5300 667MHZ KINGSTON - Im thinking of 2 of these, they'll work right?
     
  13. TK007b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #13
    For what it's worth,

    I have a 1.66 Core Duo Mini, and my Dashboard/Expose is silky smooth. I only have 1gb of RAM though.

    Wonder if the intel chip is the thing that helps ?
     
  14. ryanwarsaw macrumors 68000

    ryanwarsaw

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #14
    1 GB of RAM just doesn't cut it with Leopard. People used to argue about this here but I think the overwhelming consensus now is that 2GB is the minimum requirement to run Leopard smoothly.
     

Share This Page