Timbuk2 Messenger bags

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by guitargoddsjm, Sep 18, 2009.

1. guitargoddsjm macrumors 6502

So I'm a college student in Atlanta and I bike to my classes. For the past few days it's been raining pretty hard, and water seems to seep into my North Face backpack. Even when it's dry out, but hot, the back panel of my backpack makes my back very sweaty. (An alternative reason, backpacks don't look good with suits.)

Anyways, I've been looking around and I think I'm settling on getting a medium Timbuk2 messenger. A few sites have certain colors & models on sale, and I've narrowed my search down to the Classic Covert (essentially a Classic bag with reflective panels) and the Commute 2.0

Classic Covert (http://bit.ly/iFbpV)
    • Orig. $150, on sale for less than $50 shipped
    • Reflective matrix panels are great for night time biking and walking around the city
    • Available in black, a nice, basic color that will go with anything (including nicer clothes)
    • Essentially has one all-consuming, cavernous pocket; no laptop specific pocket.

Commute 2.0 (http://bit.ly/1GmwLG)
    • Orig. $100, on sale for about $70 shipped
    • Has a padded, separate, zippered laptop compartment in the back of the bag
    • Available in only Navy/Blue (not a terrible color) or black for $75
    • From pictures I've seen, it seems like it has more pockets/compartments for organization.

I don't have any experience with either of these bags, but I know that Timbuk2 is a very popular choice for messenger-style bags. Both feature a water proof interior with a waterproof flap and bottom. They both are supposedly durable and well made.

If any of you have either of these, it would be great if you could give me your opinions!