Time before Grey Screen at startup

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Macsavvytech, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #1
    Macbook Pro Startup is fast overall... however im extremely picking and im wondering if its normal to take 4-6 seconds to load the inital grey screen.
    If this is normal what is the computer doing cause i know my friends 3 yo white macbook doesn't have the same delay
     
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    hit cmd+v during boot and it'll show you whats going on
     
  3. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #3
    ok 2 question is it cmd-v before or after the initial grey/white screen....
    cause if it i tried before and after grey screen + im actually asking what its doing before it loads the initial grey/white screen.
     
  4. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #4
    sorry for double post but it seems odd im followed instructions on how to boot in verbose, rebuild desktop and zapp PRAM none of these shortcuts worked its like my internal keyboard is turned off at startup....
    however if i want to boot to bootcamp i can hold alt????
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  6. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    I just hold it until it starts displaying a bunch of text :)
    until it starts displaying all that text its loading the EFI I take it
     
  7. deeesea macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #7
    Mine too, about 4-6 seconds, It's a bummer when I'm trying to convince my friends to get a SSD on their laptop as well. but ehhhhhh,
     
  8. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #8
    Mine doesn't display text it just goes to the login window
     
  9. skitzogreg macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #9
    It shouldn't have that long of a delay, but if it is actually making it to the grey screen, I'd say no biggie.
     
  10. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #10
    i Dont't think anyones getting my point for starters why doesn't cmd-v work???
    and why should an i7,SSD MacbookPro 2010 take 23 seconds to turn on???
     
  11. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #11
    turn on -> right away press cmd+V -> verbose mode shows what is happening before loginwindow starts.

    also try choosing your hard drive again in Startup Disk preferences.
     
  12. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #12
    Have you changed the original memory?

    A friend had this and it was the 3rd party memory causing it.
     
  13. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #13
    no my ram is apple ram...
    and above poster ill try this again but my machine doesn't seem to boot into verbose or clearing PRAM

    Clearing PRAM and booting into Verbose is definitely disabled on my machine????
    was it abolished in OSX 10.6.4... was it disabled on the 2010 MBP???
     
  14. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #14
    ok i decided to reinstall OSX...
    my reason being that i think i might have unintentionally stuffed up OSX, a while ago i edited the default startup making my mac always boot into 64bit anyhows i recently wanted to boot into 32 bit kernel so i held the 3 and 2 keys it still booted into 64bit kernel. Now thinking about it this is probably the only difference apart from hardware between me and other macs i know, and they can all boot into verbose, etc..
    anyway ill tell you result after clean install
     
  15. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #15
    I can report that there is no change from the previous situation.
     
  16. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #16
    Your startup isnt' related to the OS. It's the EFI that your Macbook Pro is accessing between the press of the power button and the appearance of the grey screen.

    Try resetting your PRAM and NVRAM and see if that helps. Note that some of your preferences (they're listed in the linked document) will be reset to factory vales.

    No it hasn't been. I can do it just fine on my 2010 MBP running 10.6.4. Are you sure you're holding the keys down long enough?
     
  17. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #17
    I understand what EFI is and I understand snow leopard is not involved in the time before the grey screen I reinstalled as a troubleshooting means.
    Also you obviously haven't read my previous posts I cannot reset PRAM I've tried pressing the keys when the grey screen appears, I've tried pressing it the moment I press the power button either way it doesn't work this is the same for all combinations that have to be pressed before the grey screen they don't work
     
  18. FrolickinNovice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
  19. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #19
    Initially yes but now im more concerned about not being able to use Reset PRAM etc
     
  20. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #20
    Does anybody know why my 2010 MacbookPro won't boot into verbose?
     
  21. segers909 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Belgium
    #21
    Do you have a firmware password set? That will stop the other modes.
     
  22. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    Open Terminal and type:
    sudo nvram boot-args="-v"

    Reboot and it will default to verbose mode. To reset it just type the same command without the -v flag.
     
  23. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #23
    I do have a firmware password....
    How do you boot into the other modes when you have a firmware password if your Mac won't boot
     
  24. Macsavvytech thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #24
    happy found verbose PRAM problem, however i think you'll find verbose is mac osx and the time before the grey screen is EFI meaning it doesn't show in verbose
     
  25. segers909 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Belgium
    #25
    To reset your PRAM (which may help the EFI), remove the firmware password (run the utility again). Then, follow the normal PRAM reset instructions again.
     

Share This Page