Time Capsule 3 Tbyte upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Big Ron, Mar 15, 2013.

  1. Big Ron macrumors 6502

    Big Ron

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I have seen numerous threads on the forum but there must be as many against as there are for: Upgrading a 2nd Gen 500Gbyte Time capsule with a 3Tbyte drive.

    My question is simple (I think) has anyone successfully upgraded a 2nd Gen TC with a 3 Tbyte hard drive, if so which drive did you use?

    I have the money and it's burning a hole in my pocket. I don't want to buy the drive and put it into an external caddy, I want to persue the TC upgrade option.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    It seems to vary depending on the gen. of your TC. I saw a thread here on it.
     
  3. Big Ron thread starter macrumors 6502

    Big Ron

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    As I said, it's a second generation: Can anyone help with an exact make and model number??:D
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Second gen is model A1302. If you do a search you will find others who have used a 3TB with that model.
     
  5. Big Ron thread starter macrumors 6502

    Big Ron

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Thanks Weaselboy: Your more of a Apple Ninja than I . I will check it out. I just don't want to spend my cash then end up putting the drive in an external caddy.
     

Share This Page