Time Capsule 500GB 40% off @ Buy.com

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by GoCubsGo, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #1
  2. ButtUglyJeff macrumors 6502a

    ButtUglyJeff

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    New York. The state, not the toilet.
    #2
    My Spidie-Sences are going off........

    .....could we be getting a TC update? I want a 1TB model, but I've been hoping for an update to 2TB, making a 1TB model the entry level.
     
  3. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    I doubt this signals a refresh. Buy.com usually just likely bought a ton of these refurbished TC's off Apple as Apple wasn't selling them. Reducing the price in their own store would cause people to come to expect that price and they would hurt sales of the new TCs.
     
  4. mhbethany macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #4
    So I'm a newer Mac owner and was thinking about picking one of these up. Do you guys know if, since the TC is also a wi-fi base, it is compatable with PC's? I'm not concerned if the PC's can access the HD, but rather the wi-fi signal. Thanks all!
     
  5. jbrenn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #5
    The pc's can use the wireless. I have never attempted to have a pc use the disk so I don't know about that.
     
  6. dwright1974 macrumors 6502

    dwright1974

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    It is a wi-fi base station, essentially like an Airport Extreme.

    Also has ethernet ports and a USB port.

    For us in the UK, Apple currently have them in the refurb store here. I picked one up earlier this week. Came in a refurb box but not sure if it is a "refurb" as it is the old model (not dual band).

    HTH

    - D
     
  7. mhbethany macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
  8. Niv Mizzet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #8
    The PC wont be able to access the drive as it is formatted in Mac OS' filesystem, that is unless you install Paragon on your PC (or similar software / drivers).
     
  9. theMaccer macrumors 6502a

    theMaccer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
  10. Squonk macrumors 65816

    Squonk

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #10
    Nope, it's the original version. aka - this is NOT the dual band version.

    When are there going to be dual band refurbs???? :mad:
     
  11. mahen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #11
    The PC's can use both the wireless and the disk. I use my Dell with Windows XP (work laptop) to access the wireless and the TC disk without any formatting.
    It can do both read and write.
     
  12. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    DAMN. I was JUST thinking about buying a TC today, saw this thread, and was super-excited... but I really want dual-band. :(
     
  13. GoCubsGo thread starter macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #13
    Buy.com won't have dual brand refurbs for quite a while, that is probably until apple brings an even more up to date version out and tosses what is currently seen as the 2nd revision of the TC.
    I would search the Apple refurb store for the dual band models.
     
  14. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #14
    what does dual band do?
     
  15. JackSYi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #15

Share This Page