Time Capsule and Mozy

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by CEB12345, Feb 12, 2010.

1. CEB12345 macrumors newbie

Hello,

Im new to the Mac OS having just purchased my Macbook Pro 13 2.53 a few weeks ago. Im learning my way around and trying to figure out how to eventually switch everything over to the laptop.

Currently, I use Mozy to back up my PC and all my files. It has worked well over the last few years and saved me a few times after hard drive crashes.

I need a new router so I like the idea of getting a time capsule and adding in an on site back up to my set up. I also want to use it as an archive of old photos and videos so that I dont have to fill up the hard drive on the lap top.

My question is: Can I just have Mozy back up the contents of time capsule thereby backing up time machine back up content and what ever other files I have stored on the time capsule hard drive.

This way, if the time capsule hard drive dies, I can get a new one, and restore from Mozy.

I understand the danger of backing up a back up. I just want to know if it will work and if anyone is doing this.

I know mozy supports networked drives. I asked their customer support if this set up would work and they were evasive.

Thanks

2. flynz4 macrumors 68040

Since you understand the disadvantage of backing up a backup... then you know enough to not want to do this.

Mozy is a great product. The combination of two completely independent (local plus cloud) backup solutions is ideal.

/Jim

3. macaco74 macrumors regular

What are the dangers of backing up a backup (I know this must be a common knowledge thing)?

4. flynz4 macrumors 68040

At the most fundamental level... any data corruption that occurs within the first backup, would just be duplicated into any subsequent backups. Hence, you might believe that you are "safe"... only to be surprised when you need to recover data. By contrast, two completely independent backups, would not propagate errors.