Time Capsule and Replacement Laptops

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rogerthat, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. rogerthat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #1
    I currently have 4 family members backing up their laptops (all Macs) using a Time Capsule. I'm giving my MBP to my wife who is retiring her 12" Aluminum MBP (ok, that was my old one, also) and I'm getting a new MacBook Air. So, in effect, we will have 2 new laptops to back up on the Time Capsule....does anyone know...do we have to do anything to the Time Capsule to get rid of the old backups and start new ones?
     
  2. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #2
    If you want to delete the old backups completely, open AirPort Utility and select the Time Capsule's disk under the Disks tab and erase it.
     
  3. eric/ Guest

    eric/

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio, United States
    #3
    Easiest thing to do is delete everything and start new backups for all of your computers.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Just turn on Time Machine on the new computer and it will start a new backup on its own.

    To delete the old ones just go to Finder and click on the Time Capsule and delete the file I indicated for the machines you no longer want to backup. It can take a few minutes to delete the file.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. rogerthat thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007

Share This Page