Time Capsule and SuperDuper Setup Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by lazygregg, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. lazygregg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #1
    I want to use SuperDuper to save my backups to my Time Capsule
    but in the save backup "To" field theres no option to save it to the Time Capsule.

    Is there something I need to do to the Time Capsule for it to show up in SuperDuper?

    Thanks
    Gregg
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    SuperDuper isn't designed to save files to a non-local drive (your Time Capsule is definitely non-local, since it can't be directly connected to a computer).
     
  3. lazygregg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #3
    is there anyway around that so i can still use my time capsule?
     
  4. OrangeCuse44 macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #4
    Not sure if I'm missing something here but just ditch SuperDuper for Time Machine. I bought SuperDuper then stopped using it once Time machine was available. It works better IMO because of silent backups.
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Along the same lines, if you really want to use SuperDuper, use it with a locally connected drive, and have Time Machine back up to your Time Capsule. This gives you the best of both worlds - a bootable backup should your system fail, and hourly snapshots of your files so you can restore all your lost work.
     

Share This Page