Time Capsule and USB Hub

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by deniser, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. deniser macrumors 6502

    deniser

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Cornwall, England
    #1
    I have tried attaching a self powered 4 port usb 2 hub to TC to attach a printer and an external hard drive. Neither of them show up when attached with the hub. They show up when attached directly i.e. separately.

    Before I go buying a new hub in case this one is not working properly (all the lights light up as though it is working), has anyone else successfully used a hub whether self powered or mains powered. Apple says in the literature you can use a hub to connect more than one usb device.

    Is it that a self powered usb does not get enough power ??? Should I get a mains powered hub ????????? Or just buy another self powered hub ?????

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Try the hub on your Mac first to see if its working properly.
     
  3. deniser thread starter macrumors 6502

    deniser

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Cornwall, England
    #3
    Doh!!!!!!! being thick today and not thinking of the obvious :eek:

    EDIT: The hub is not working on my mac even though the lights light up
     
  4. prominence macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    I've very curious to hear an answer about this as well.
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Must be the hub then.
     
  6. deniser thread starter macrumors 6502

    deniser

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Cornwall, England
    #6
    Does anyone know if a self powered usb will work with TC or do I need a mains powered hub ?
     
  7. crzymac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #7
    I purchased the belkin 7 port usb hub with its own power source and it works fine. at first i did try the self powered over usb hub and it too lights up but didn't work. Now i have all my usb drive, printer on the new hub... Good luck...
     
  8. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #8
    I will be trying this when my unit is delivered tomorrow, my fingers are crossed.
     
  9. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #9
    Since it doesn't work on your iMac I would just try a different hub. I know that self-powered hubs work with the Airport Extreme so I'd imagine they do with TC as well.
     

Share This Page