Time Capsule and Xbox Live (NOT a wireless question)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by venasque, May 13, 2008.

1. venasque macrumors member

Hello all,

I'm very new to the world of Mac. In fact so new I don't even own one yet. :) I have an opportunity that would allow me to get a Macbook Pro, through work, for next to nothing (part of a bonus thing). I think this would allow me to finally make the jump to trying out the world of Mac with little cost to myself. I've now been doing some research into what I will need to buy and that has lead me here and to my question at hand.

With my current set up I have a standard router (not wireless) with cables that connect my PC and my Xbox 360. As I want to introduce a Macbook to the mix (I'd still keep my PC for the time being) I'd like to switch out my standard router with a wireless one so I can use my Macbook anywhere in my condo. I was thinking about getting Time Capsule because it would kill two birds with one stone while saving desktop real estate. I would have my wireless router and I could make use of the Time Machine feature of Leopard.

There seems to be a lot of information about Xbox Live and Time Capsule. The general consensus is that the two are not on talking terms. However that all seems to be regarding connecting the Xbox 360 wirelessly .

At the moment my 360 is connected with a cable and that works just fine for me. Really I only want the wireless aspect for my Macbook, not my 360, so would I still have problems connecting to Xbox Live if I use my cable set up with Time Capsule as well? Or is there some piece of information I'm missing that makes that a stupid idea?

I appreciate your help.

Thanks

2. Limonade3 macrumors newbie

my Xbox Live works perfectly with the Time Capsule. They are just hooked up with an ethernet cable.
    I was having a lot of issues even connected via ethernet cable with my old router, but no issues with the time capsule.

3. Future Blues macrumors member