Time Capsule Backup for MacAir

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by wilkia61, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. wilkia61 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #1
    I have a MacAir which I am trying to back up to a Time Capsule.

    The Time Capsule already holds back up for a desk Mac.

    When I try and back up the MacAir I get the following message:

    Time Machine could not complete the backup.

    The backup disk image “/Volumes/Adrian Wilkinson's Time Cap/Adrian Wilkinson’s MacBook Air.sparsebundle” could not be accessed (error -1).


    Can anyone help?

    What does this mean?

    Am I correct in assuming that I can back up more than one device to a Time Capsule?

    Many thanks
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You might try turning off Time Machine then go to the Finder and delete that sparse bundle file you noted. Then turn TM back on and try again.

    Yes you can do multiple machine to the same Time Capsule.
     
  3. wilkia61 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #3
    Tx Weaselboy, but that didn't work.

    I have even reinstalled Time Capsule and get same message
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #4
    Not sure if this will work, but back when I got my Time Capsule (first gen) there was an issue with long Time Capsule names with spaces and apostrophes. I had to rename my TC to something shorter without spaces or apostrophes for it to function properly. You may also try shortening the name of your MacBook Air.
     
  5. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5

Share This Page