Time Capsule Backup speed slow???

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by laudern, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. laudern macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I just purchased a 2TB TC and I've got it connected to my wireless router using a network cord. I was wondering on what speed I should be expecting for the original backup of my 196GB macbook (late 2009, SL). Its been going for an hour now and has backed up 8.5GB.

    Is this slower than usual or about right?

    BTW, would it go about the same speed if I had connected the TC wirelessly to the wireless router/modem compared to connecting it with the network cord. My computer is the only active computer on the network right now
     
  2. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #2
    Bring up Activity Monitor and go to the Networking tab - what kind of "Data sent/sec" are you seeing?

    You might see an improvement if you wirelessly connect to the 802.11n 5GHz network.
     
  3. laudern thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #3
    It's sending data at around 2mb/sec to 3mb/sec...

    Reckon I should stop and reconnect to the TC directly via wifi?
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    time machine backups tend to be slow in my experience.

    your main router, what kind of wi-fi is it? (alt click on the wi-fi icon in the menu bar if you don't know)

    if your existing router doesn't have 802.11n, you'd probably be better off turning off the wifi on your router, and using the time capsule's wireless instead.

    for the initial backup, you'll have better luck using hardwire ethernet.
     
  5. laudern thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #5
    I just stopped my tm backup and connected the TC to the laptop via a network cable. Been going for 15min and backed up 9gb. It is a shame that the TC backs up so slowly over wifi. But I guess it won't be that bad after the initial backup is completed :-\

    ----------

    I just have 1 more question to ask. I've put a password on disk access for the TC. now I've kept the password on my laptop, but what if I lose my laptop or it crashes and I thus lose the only copy of my disk access password. Will I be able to access the TC still when I go to do a restore on a new mac?
     
  6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #6
    Yes. The drive will popup in the list of servers found when Time Machine does its search. You'll select it and it will prompt for the password.
     

Share This Page