Time Capsule ethernet help needed!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by WillFisher, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. WillFisher, Dec 3, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013

    WillFisher macrumors 6502

    WillFisher

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,

    So I've had a Time Machine the last month or so, and last night our Virgin Superhub decided to go stupid and no longer works as a router. Convenient I bought the TC then. Anyway, setting up was simple, turn the Superhub to Modem Mode, didn't use Bridge Mode on the TC because it didn't work, but wifi is working perfectly!
    However, we have ethernet wall socket things in the house because one computer doesn't have wifi, and now the ethernet wall sockets are not working. Any idea why/is there a fix?

    Thanks!

    EDIT: Fixed by turning off and then on in order of Modem, TC, Computer.
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Can you please be a bit more specific as to what "Ethernet wall socket things" are?

    Is this Ethernet over power line or simple Ethernet to Ethernet?

    How are they hooked up to the Virgin and TC?

    B
     
  3. WillFisher thread starter macrumors 6502

    WillFisher

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    Oh, and the ethernet ports on the back of the TC are all lit up when theres something plugged in, so I don't think its the TC itself.

    ----------

    Yes thats it. The power lines.
    The TC is linked from its WAN port to WAN on the Virgin Superhub via an ethernet cable.
    Then the power line is direct out the LAN of the TC, into the wall socket, then out the other end into the computer
     
  4. WillFisher thread starter macrumors 6502

    WillFisher

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    Issue solved! Did a reset on the network in order of

    Modem --> TC --> Computer.

    And it was fine. Weird but great!
     

Share This Page