Time Capsule file server access outside LAN.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by TechiEmmanuel, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. TechiEmmanuel, Mar 2, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014

    TechiEmmanuel macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #1
    Hai! I bought a Time Capsule 2TB on 8 Feb, and have been loving it! I set it up in such a way that it's also a file server. I can access it from FileExplorer on my iPad within my LAN (with my external IP), but when I turn off Wi-Fi and switch to LTE, I get some "connection refused" error. Is there anything I'm doing wrong?



    Thanks! :)
     
  2. IlikeMacsSoMuch macrumors 6502

    IlikeMacsSoMuch

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    Blainville, Province of Quebec
    #2
    Well, is your Time Capsule set up to be reached from the internet?
     
  3. jjsagona macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    #3
    From the Internet you would need to enter the public IP for your Time Capsule in the FileExplorer configuration rather than the IP address it is accessed with from your internal network.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    You need to ensure that your modem is a simple modem and that the Time Capsule is handling DHCP and NAT. If it is a DSL connection, ensure that the TC is connecting via PPPoE, and if cable it can use DHCP to connect. Then ensure that "Share Disks Over WAN" is checked in AirPort Utility.
     
  5. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #5
    Time Capsule file server access outside LAN.

    Thanks for the response!

    a. I had "Share Disks over WAN" checked in AirPort Utility already.
    b. I'm using Comcast Blast! with a Motorola SB6120 modem.
    c. I was already using my external IP with the app. (The x's are replaced by the actual IP.)

    I have screenshots attached of my configuration:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    ---

    18:00 update: The external IP no longer works locally either.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Ensure your IP has not changed as you probably have a dynamic address. Simply Google "IP" and it will come up. If your modem has a config panel, try adding the Time Capsule temporarily to the DMZ. Do NOT leave it like this though.

    If you don't have that option try resetting the TC and setting it up again. Also, try checking "Setup over WAN" and see if you can access it then!
     
  7. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #7
    No dice, even after resetting the router completely. The external IP is working locally however.

    I did a little test. I enabled Personal Hotspot on my iPad and turned off Wi-Fi. I connected the iPad to my PowerMac G5 via USB and unplugged the Ethernet. I connected to the server afp://MYEXTERNALIP in Finder, and it worked! So I'm suspecting it has something to do with the protocol used by FileExplorer. I think it's SMB?

    Thanks! :)
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    I am not sure that connecting via SMB is supported to anything but FAT 16/32. What happens if you go to Finder --> Go --> Connect to Server --> and type smb://MYEXTERNALIP. I am not sure SMB can be used across the Internet.
     
  9. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #9
    I Binged a bit, and found that most ISPs block SMB for security reasons. Trying to connect via SMB while tethered was unsuccessful. And I'm now for sure that FileExplorer is using SMB. I'm glad I got the lite version first. ;)

    That brings me to this: Do you know of any AFP apps?

    Thanks! :)
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    Eww Bing. Anyhow, I am not sure of any apps that use AFP instead of SMB. Then again, most places don't support AFP since it is an Apple protocol. Is there a way that you can contact your ISP about getting the SMB block removed. Sometimes it is as little as a check box on the modem.

    EDIT: It appears an app called Files Connect will work.
     
  11. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #11
    Haha, I'm using Bing because I don't exactly like Google (for complicated reasons). Plus, I get a $5 Starbucks Card for every 525 searches. :)

    I also saw something about Apple blocking remote SMB in a firmware update last year. Either way, dealing with Comcast is usually a nightmare.

    Thanks for the app! I'm a little put off by it not being updated for iOS 7, but as long as it works... ;)
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    That is fine that you don't like Google. I don't trust the cloud as a whole but for unimportant stuff in terms of backups it is unbeatable. Having Google Drive sync everything across is great. Everyone will side with their respective companies, for me it is Google and Apple.

    I am not sure if that app is going to work but I figured I would tell you. I also heard about apps like "iFiles" and "GoodReader". GoodReader appears to be the most updated but I think it also does AFP.
     
  13. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #13
    The whole purpose of me accessing my Time Capsule outside LAN was to have my own "secure cloud" that...wait for it...has 2TB! I've tried both Google Drive and Dropbox, but a. I'm not really comfortable handing over my documents to them, and b. WebDAV seems to be broken on my G5.

    I downloaded GoodReader from the App Store last night. It works surprisingly quickly in even Starbucks, with their horrendously slow Wi-Fi. What put me off though was no Quick View, unlike FileExplorer. That app was absolutely perfect...except no AFP. I like being able to stream—and not download first then play—videos and whatnot stored on the Time Capsule.

    Thanks! :)
     
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14
    No problem. The funny part is that GoodReader is actually supposed to be a PDF reader program.
     
  15. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #15
    I noticed that too, but decided to try it anyway. Maybe I'll have some luck emailing the developer of FileExplorer. Thanks again! :)
     
  16. GreenMan00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    #16
    Bump.

    I also recently downloaded FileExplorer, but I'm having trouble accessing my Time Capsule files outside of my LAN network. Whenever, I try to access them over WAN, it says Connection Timed Out. I also enabled "Share Over Wan" on my Time Capsule, and I'm able to access my Time Capsule files over WAN on my MacBook Air, however, I can't over iOS (iPhone).
     
  17. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #17
    I believe it has to do with protocol. I recall seeing something about Apple disabling SMB over WAN a while ago, and your ISP may have SMB blocked anyway (for security reasons). If if you have any apps that can use AFP (like GoodReader), you can access your Time Capsule remotely, just as you can on a Mac—in my case, a MacBook Pro w/ Retina display.
     
  18. GreenMan00, Apr 27, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014

    GreenMan00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    #18
    I believe SMB is strictly LAN, and AFP is strictly WAN.

    My ISP hasn't blocked SMB or AFP, since they all work. I can access my Time Capsule over WAN via AFP with my MacBook Air. I can also access my other computers over LAN via SMB.

    Does GoodReader have the ability to stream/preview files/pictures/videos, without me having to download them?

    I downloaded an app called Files Connect (it works with AFP), and it allows me to stream/preview files/pictures/videos, with the exception of MKV files. Files Connect works the same as FileExplorer, except the layout is not as nice as FileExplorer. It has that older iOS look, compared to FileExplorer's modern look.

    I sent an email to the developer of FileExplorer to enable AFP.

    Do you know of any other apps that can use AFP.

    I tired GoodReader, but it asks me for an email each time, which I don't want give them. I'll use FilesConnect for now, unless I find better.
     
  19. TechiEmmanuel thread starter macrumors regular

    TechiEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #19
    Oh? I've never been able to use SMB over WAN, and AFP works locally. (It's how I access my Time Capsule.) My ISP is (shudder) Comcast.

    GoodReader doesn't stream, to my knowledge.

    I was aware of Files Connect, but can't recommend it because of the horrid interface. Sorry, I don't know any other apps.
     
  20. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20
    SMB is generally used on local networks (LAN) but can be used if router properly over the Internet (WAN). This is however usually disabled by ISPs. AFP can be routed either over the Internet (WAN) or locally without issue.
     
  21. photosmike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #21
    I use File Browser to access my mac outside my lan. The FB requires a VPN to connect outside my lan. It works great. Without the VPN, it will not work.
     
  22. GreenMan00, Apr 28, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2014

    GreenMan00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    #22
    How do I make my Time Capsule SMB over WAN?
     
  23. GreenMan00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    #23
    I emailed FileExplorer support.

    This is the reply I got.

    "I’m sorry FileExplorer doesn’t support AFP, but we’ll think about your suggestion.

    Thanks,
    Steven

    Twitter: @SkyjosApps"

    Hopefully, if more of us email them, they will implement AFP.
     
  24. GreenMan00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    #24
    Can you (or anyone) link me how to create a VPN with a Time Capsule.
     
  25. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #25
    Most ISPs have SMB disabled for security purposes over WAN.
     

Share This Page