Time Capsule firmware updates

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by drambuie, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    Is there a way to download a Time Capsule firmware update from Apple and store it directly on a Macbook Pro as a file, namely 7.6? The available TC firmware upgrade downloads on the Apple site are 7.6, and 7.6.1. Some users have had idevice connection issues with 7.6.1, so I would prefer to have 7.6 available as a fallback. The Airport utility shows the 7.6.1 upgrade only. My third gen TC has the original 7.5.1 it came with.

    Why would Apple show 7.6 as available if there's no way to get it?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You can upgrade and downgrade the firmware via the Airport Utility's Base Station>Upload Firmware menu. You can choose the firmware version you want and it will be downloaded and installed onto your device.
     
  3. drambuie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #3
    Thanks, however the Update and Revert buttons are greyed out. The Apple documentation on this is a bit confusing, but my impressions were that this was only for obtaining firmware updates that were stored on a Mac. I want to get 7.6 from the Apple download site. I don't suppose there's any way to save the existing TC firmware.

    I have another question. Does a firmware update delete all TC firmware settings back to default?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    You're in the incorrect menu. Double click on your Time Capsule so its window pops up. Then at the top of your screen click the Base Station menu, then click the Upload Firmware sub-menu. Then select the firmware you want and install it. The firmware is signed by Apple everything it is downloaded. Downloading and storing a copy is not possible because the digital signature will expire after a few days.

    Updating a Time Capsule does not restore it to default settings. But in the event the update does change some back to default, export your configuration file under the File menu after loading the device's current settings by double clicking on the device.
     
  5. drambuie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #5
    Sheesh. I was putting all my attention on the Airport utility window in the center of the screen, and never noticed that the menu bar at the top had changed from Finder to Airport. Thank you for your patience. It's late now, so I'll try 7.6 tomorrow.
     

Share This Page